OS X 10.10.3 Public Beta - smart to load it on my MBP?

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by joeypom, Mar 3, 2015.

  1. joeypom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    #1
    I have a Macbook Pro from 2012 and I am part of the OS X public beta program. This is my only Macbook so would it be smart to update it even though it is a beta?
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Apple cautions the use of the beta on machines that you need for day to day use. So to answer your question, no its not a good idea.
     
  3. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #3
    I agree with Mike.

    While the public betas are usually pretty stable, there is always the chance that certain apps may not work correctly, as well as other glitches and potential crashes. Having a good backup in place could help lessen the impact of such problems. However, if you feel uneasy enough to create a thread on the subject, that should be a red flag to you, that it probably would be best for you to wait.
     
  4. fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #4
    all good here, but caution is always advisable. i've loaded all the betas on my macbook pro (my only mac); had to revert after 10.10.2 beta killed sync with my ipod shuffle (a gym necessity).

    but 10.10.3 beta is great here, and so far, all my apps (& tweaks, etc) are working fine...
     
  5. mercuryjones macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Location:
    College Station, TX
    #5
    Installed on my day to day system. No problems as of yet. However, make sure you have a solid backup and restore plan before taking the plunge, just in case something goes wrong.
     
  6. JarScott macrumors 68040

    JarScott

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    Slightly off topic, but I don't feel it's worth creating a new thread for. Since loading the 10.10.3 beta, has anyone found their MacBook Pro running far warmer than usual? I can hear my fans spinning faster than they used to, in general use, than before I was running the beta. Last night when I was playing around with the Photos app, my fans went up to full speed and my MacBook was roasting. Doesn't sound normal.

    Although my MacBook is due for a free video repair under the new Repair Program, so they might by related issues. (Will Apple refuse to service my MacBook if it's running a beta OS?)
     
  7. robgendreau macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #7
    Check Activity Monitor. Might be doing faces, generating previews, Spotlight indexing, etc in the background a bunch. That might calm down after time.
     
  8. JarScott macrumors 68040

    JarScott

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #8
    Something called com.apple.photomoments is claiming to be using 100% of CPU power?
     
  9. mdtolic macrumors newbie

    mdtolic

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Location:
    North/USA
    #9
    Mine went hot and the fan went nuts here too :( I tried to open Photos and it crashed. Did a restart and same thing happened. I shut it down and will play around with it when I get home from work tonight.
     
  10. .macbookpro. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Location:
    london
    #10
    I've only got an update for beta 6, is this the correct one?
     
  11. fisherking macrumors 601

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #11
    def worth it's own thread. my mbp is absolutely running hotter (too hot), and the fans kick in sometimes. will keep an eye on activity monitor, to sort out what's running hard...
     
  12. JarScott macrumors 68040

    JarScott

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #12
    Something called com.apple.photomoments was using 100% CPU power, according to Activity Monitor. I force quitted the task and now my MacBook is running silent again. I have no idea what the process is or what it does, but by the sounds of it it's something to do with Photos.
     
  13. JHUFrank macrumors 6502a

    JHUFrank

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    #13

    I run the beta also, and I am not having this issue. That may be a good item to turn into the bug reporting group.
     
  14. JarScott macrumors 68040

    JarScott

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #14
    I've not seen it happen again since I forced the task to quit. My best guess would be that it has something to do with the Faces feature of Photos, but it's hard to tell. I've reported this issue via Feedback Assistant, though.
     
  15. drew627 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    #15
    As the name suggests, it's the process that manages your Photos Moments, or "timeline" in Facebook language. The app is still in beta so it's normal. I'm actually having the same problem but I don't use Photos often any way so it hasn't bothered me that much.
     
  16. JarScott macrumors 68040

    JarScott

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #16
    Ah. Thanks for clearing that up. I've reported the issue to Apple so hopefully it'll be brought to their attention.
     
  17. shenan1982 macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #17
    Question, is the normal update path that if I install the beta then the final version is released I'm able to just upgrade from beta to the full version, or will I have to restore and install fresh? Don't want to have to re setup everything.
     
  18. mjdindc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    #18
    My mac air was running at close to 100 cpufor more than almost 2 hours with photo app processes. It was also using about 1.5 GBof memory. It eventually settles down. I only have about 900 pics on my laptop for it to work thru. Now sure what will happen on desktop when it hits my 75,000 pics.

    I reported to Apple but the log collection isn't working correctly for me do they aren't getting all the diagnostic data.
     
  19. MarcusCarpenter macrumors 6502a

    MarcusCarpenter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Location:
    London
    #19
    On 10.0.3 Developer preview i found Safari to be slow, i would sit there for a full 5 second before Safari decided to search for what i typed in. i tried changed my DNS then gave up and installed 10.10.2 back
     
  20. shenan1982 macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #20
    Wow, 10.0.3? That version was released 14 years ago. Going retro, ehh?

    I would expect Safari to be slow if I went back to 10.0.3
     
  21. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #21
    I would suggest creating a separate partition and installing it on that. This way your primary OS X install will not be effected.
     
  22. theonekcrow macrumors 6502a

    theonekcrow

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Location:
    Indiana
    #22
    I would definitely recommend having several different backups and knowing what you are doing before installing a public beta. You never know what may happen and the chances of data loss is certainly higher than with stable versions.

    That being said, I can knock on wood that I have not had any major problems (had all Yosemite PBs so far), but I won't be surprised when or if something goes wrong.

    One final note, if you are registered using a Public Beta, and something goes wrong Hardware wise, you ARE covered under your limited warranty or AppleCare plan (if you have one).
     
  23. MarcusCarpenter macrumors 6502a

    MarcusCarpenter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Location:
    London
    #23
    I meant 10.10.3 obviously
     
  24. shenan1982 macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #24
    I know, was joking. I assumed you didn't go back to a 10+ year old OS.. but then again it seems like there are a ton of whiners complaining that their apps no longer support their iOS 6 ... so nothing shocks me from those who resist progress, hehe.
     

Share This Page