OS X Leopard for iBook G4?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by thecharliebot, Jul 6, 2012.

  1. thecharliebot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Location:
    Bromsgrove,Worcs,England
    #1
    Hello,

    This will probably sound odd but here it goes. Will I be able to install os x leopard on my iBook G4, processor 1.42 GHz PowerPC G4 and memory 1 GB DDR SDRAM. It is running os x 10.4.11 at the moment will I be able to upgrade?

    Thank you thecharliebot
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Yes, Snow Leopard (10.6) dropped support for PPC Macs. 10.5 (Leopard) is the last version that PPC Macs can use. Is there a feature that you're looking in Leopard? I think Tiger will run faster on your G4 then Leopard will
     
  3. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #3
    Leopard is fully supported on your iBook. If you're going to upgrade, it'd be a good idea to max out your RAM to 1.5 GB. Also, remember that Leopard needs more hard disc space.

    In my experience, the only Macs that actually run better with Tiger are those that are significantly below Apple's recommended specs for Leopard.
     
  4. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #4
    My wife used an iBook G4, 1.42 ghz, 1,25 gb ram and Leopard ran fine. She used this for a couple of years before I bought her an MBP so she could run current software.
     
  5. wfuentes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    #5
    Ibook G4 os x 10.5 upgrade

    HI there. I am trying to upgrade my ibook g4 1.42 ghz 256mb to 10.5. I currently have 10.4.11. I have the install dvd but when it asked to restart i do but it doesn't boot the installation dvd. Help!
     
  6. arteggio macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #6
    Might've just been a one-off thing. You could try again, but if it doesn't work again you can just hold the option key right after the bootup gong, and that will take you to a screen of bootable disks.

    I can't remember the last time I installed an OS without it rebooting to the installer by itself, but I'm pretty sure you should be able to access the installer from there.
     

Share This Page