"OSX can't repair the disk xxxxx, you can still copy...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by whyrichard, Jan 19, 2010.

  1. whyrichard macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #1
    ...files on the disk, but you can't save changes to fileso n the disk. Back up the disk and reformat it as soon as you can"


    Strange, on a new mac pro's stock hd.

    So...

    How exactly do i restore this hd, which does not have the boot os but is just used for storage, to a proper state?

    -should i delete my time machine hd (which is my only other hd big enough) and copy the files from that currupt hd to my time machine hd,

    -or just reformat the currupt hd and restore it using the time machine program?
    -and if i should use the time machine program, HOW DO I DO IT?

    I can't loose this data...

    and why the he** did this happen to begin with? should i get this hd replaced under warrantee? can i? should i not trust this hd?


    thanks,
    r.
     
  2. zmttoxics macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #2
    I would definitely look at getting another hard drive to make a backup of this bad one with. If the bad drive is still under warranty, I would call up Apple and see if they can send you a replacement. They might even send it to you first to copy the data over to it then you can send the bad one back. :)
     
  3. Maim macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #3
    if it really is a new mac pro then the drive will be covered by the warranty so it will be replaced for free. time machine really couldnt be simpler, plug in a drive and choose it in time machine preferences and off you go.
     
  4. dsiew81 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #4
    Boot from your install DVDs and run a Disk Utility from there. If that cannot repair your HDD, then bring it to Apple.
     
  5. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    Filesystem corruption does not necessarily indicate hardware failure. Certainly back up and format the drive as suggested (and keep your backups up to date), but you might find that it runs flawlessly after a reformat.
     
  6. whyrichard thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #6
    It is very strange...


    ...i got installed two new caviar blacks. they've been running great, but one of them has recently given me a similar error message.

    It happened both times after I'm in win7 and try to get picasa to see the HD, by using macdrive 8. i has begun to not work, picasa in win7 to see my mac drive... and now i switch back to macos and run disk utilities and i get the same error message.

    what is going on?

    r.
     
  7. whyrichard thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #7
    i booted from the osx dvd and i successfully repaired the disk. this was my storage hdd.

    i verified my startup disk, an intel ssd, and it too was corrupt and in need of repair. "incorrect number of extended attributes".

    thankfully it repairs fine.


    what gives?

    all the currupt disks?

    r.
     
  8. Phantom Gremlin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Location:
    Tualatin, Oregon
    #8
    I don't have any good advice for you, but I can empathize. I just hate "flaky" problems like yours.

    I've had disks hard crash and refuse to start spinning. I've had CPUs that have refused to power up. I love problems like that (relatively speaking), because they're deterministic; simple to diagnose and simple to fix.
     
  9. bubbleboy450 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    #9
    Western Digital Black

    From what I can tell, this problem occurs with drives using the "Advanced Format" such as the WD Black series.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Advanced_Format


    I still have no idea what it means. I just bought a WD black 750 drive and got this error the second time I ejected and then remounted it.
     

Share This Page