Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MacKenzie999

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 24, 2002
Boston
Hey everyone...

My OS is seriously messed up, and I need to reinstall. Apple's Mail app will not even launch, iTunes and iPhoto quit frequently, etc.

So I plan a reinstall. BUT...what I'd like to know is, what do I need to do to back up my iTunes, email and iPhoto data? iTunes is the most important because I have a huge library of stuff I have custom-tagged in iTunes and assume that data will not carry over to a new install unless I act accordingly. I know how to back up the actual mp3 files, I just want to keep all the set lists and artist info, that stuff.

Also, whenever I launch any kind of helper app, I get a life preserver and an error message (often error 35)

So...any and all help is greatly appreciated.
Thanks!

-Mike

PS I'm a designer, tecchie skill level is basically just enough to be dangerous (to me)

menoinjun

macrumors 6502a
Jul 7, 2001
Search the HD for your .mp3 files, back them up with the same file structure, and then save the library files for iTunes. They should be somewhere in the root file structure of your mp3s. If you have a lot of mp3s, you might have two seperate library files. Then simply just copy the information back after you reformat.

MacKenzie999

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 24, 2002
Boston
Originally posted by ptrauber
Search the HD for your .mp3 files, back them up with the same file structure, and then save the library files for iTunes. They should be somewhere in the root file structure of your mp3s. If you have a lot of mp3s, you might have two seperate library files. Then simply just copy the information back after you reformat.