Other Schools gets MacBooks, My HS had NO tech, and for a geek, that SUCKS.

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by dontwalkhand, Jan 24, 2012.

1. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

dontwalkhand

www.youtube.com/watch?v=567COPx8mVM

I am jealous of these kids, because when I went to High School (I graduated in 2008), my old school, and school district (whom I now pay taxes for, being 22) still seems to be showing no signs of improvement.

I wish we had this at my high school when I went to HS, it surely would have made me pay more attention in class, as I was/am tech savvy .

My school had nothing tech, and in fact, it was so over-flowing that they took out the last computer lab for another classroom, so yes, we went to a school with no computer lab. The programming classes, and robotics classes were cut, so we didn't have those either. We didn't have our own library, so we used the Public Library. Kids who went there all grew up on farms, and never even been on a bus or train in their lives, much less, even knew how to drive. If the kid DID know how to drive, they drove nothing short of a big lifted truck or SUV to school.

If it wasn't about sports, it wasn't important to the school, so yes, that means we only had one dance a year, the prom, which only Seniors had priority of attending. They would rather concentrate on trivial things such as banning ketchup than actually doing something to foster the brains of the future, such as integrating technology.

There were also no such things as lockers, and nothing was done right, from building maintenance, to keeping up with state laws. The bells were always off by several minutes (20-30 minutes!) that nobody every paid any attention to them, and it has gone un-fixed for so long, even though I volunteered to fix it for them, since they just use the Rauland system for bells tied in with their PBX.