Out of range, monitor help.

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Roseyboy, Jan 3, 2008.

  1. Roseyboy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    #1
    Hi,

    Over Xmas I wanted to play some oldish games on my G4 MDD and they were all automatically setting the montior refresh rate and resolution to high for my monitor. I managed to find a config file for Quake III and lower it to a more suitable setting, But I can't get Ghost Recon or Raven Shield to run and can't find a config file. So a few questions...

    1. Can someone poitn me in the direction of the config files for them and let me know what to change.

    Or 2. Am i right in thinking the game will be getting its automatic settings from the system prefrences where in the monitor settings it lists my monitor as being able to display in about 50 more resolutions / refresh rates than it can. Can these be removed / hidden?

    Any help would be awsome even though Xmas is over, Thanks :)
     
  2. Roseyboy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    #2
    Just to reply to my own question to help others that might search for this, I solved the problem last night by using a handy app called DisplayConfigX from here which enabled me to remove the resolutions I could not use and change the refresh rate of the ones I could to match my monitor, word of warning I'm sure if you fiddle with it to much you could break your monitor/gfx card but I stuck to the basics (de ticking boxes) and now I can play my old games, schweeet. :cool:
     
  3. bmb012 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    #3
    Usually when holding option when starting a game, an options menu appears before the game launches. You should be able to select the correct resolution from there, if they do it...
     
  4. Roseyboy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    #4
    Yup i tried a lot of things and a long time searching for an easier way, but the only startup option i could get was for "monitor select" if you have more than one. oh well all working now :)
     
  5. mymacmini123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #5
    quake config file

     

Share This Page