Overtemp Red LED comes on. What part of the system does in monitor?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Hawkeye411, Apr 8, 2008.

  1. Hawkeye411 macrumors 68000

    Hawkeye411

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Canada EH!!!
    #1
    The OVERTEMP red LED keeps lighting up on the system board of my Power Mac G5 2.3GHz. Obviously something is overheating. I called Apple Support and he asked my how long it has been since I turned off my Power Mac. I told him its been 2 years (since I bought it). He said that I need to turn it off once in a while for some time. I use it to serve files so I can't turn it off. Sounds kind of ridiculous if you ask me.

    He said that if it continues to happen I need to take it in for servicing because a fan could be broken, etc.

    I am wondering, does anyone know what part of the system that the OVERTEMP led is related to? I asked the Apple care guy and he said that it was the memory. The LED is located next to the top memory bay along with 4 or 5 other warning LED's (e.g. CPU A, . I'm not convinced that it is related to the memory temperature though. So I thought I would ask all of you knowledgeable Mac owners if you know what the OVERTEMP LED is monitoring?

    Cheers.
     
  2. Manzana macrumors 6502a

    Manzana

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #2
    you could download something like istat pro

    also, it doesn't make sense that he told you to shut it down once in a while, that's dumb.
     
  3. krye macrumors 68000

    krye

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    Does anyone know if the Jan Mac Pros are the same? I think I've noticed a red light shining out the back onto the wall late at night when I have the living room light off. Is that normal, or a sign that it is overheating?
     
  4. Hawkeye411 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Hawkeye411

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Canada EH!!!
  5. FireSlash macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    #5
    We can't see images linked from your LAN. Upload it to photobucket or a similar service. (Or attach it)
     
  6. Hawkeye411 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Hawkeye411

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Canada EH!!!
  7. Rankrotten macrumors 6502

    Rankrotten

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    I had this occurring in my Mac Pro:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=5189682&postcount=45

    My problem occurred when the PSU could not supply enough power to my graphic cards using a molex splitter cable from the optical bay. I recabled using the spare PCIe connectors on the motherboard and all was ok.

    Your PSU could be on the way out.
     

Share This Page