Parallels and call of duty on 2010 imac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Buchey, Nov 30, 2010.

  1. Buchey macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    #1
    Christmas soon! Heey i was wondering about how good call of duty modern warfare 2 would work with parralels? i have a imac from 2010, 21,5 inches and 3,06 ghz. hope you can help(;
     
  2. APtalent macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    #2
    Are you serious?

    You can't game on a virtual desktop!!!

    Try installing a Windows OS via bootcamp or find a wrapper/port for the game.
     
  3. Buchey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    #3
    okay thanks, how good will it run in bootcamp??
     
  4. Zach Schible macrumors member

    Zach Schible

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Indiana
    #4
    It should run just as well as any comparable PC at those specs under bootcamp. My iMac does a great job playing games, even at max settings most of the time.
     
  5. Loramarthalas macrumors member

    Loramarthalas

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    #5
    Actually, the newest version of Paralells, version 6 i think, was optimised to let you play games. It wont play anything at native res, but it will certainly give decent performace for any unreal engine games, Mass Effects, Arkham Asylum, Bioshock, and would be a decent choice for Starcraft 2 or Need For Speed.

    CHeck Youtube for videos of the performance improvements. I've seen a few and was quite impressed. It is a genuine option, I believe.
     
  6. Buchey thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
  7. George Knighton macrumors 6502a

    George Knighton

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #7
    It'll move, sure. But he's not going to get full use of his video card in a Parallels virtual machine. He won't even be able to assign enough memory to it for best results in the game he's talking about.

    Bootcamp is the way to go, IMHO.
     
  8. spcdust macrumors 6502a

    spcdust

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    Bootcamp is the only way to go with regards to gaming.
     
  9. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #9
    Why on earth would you play SC2 in Parallels instead of the Mac version? Instead of running through the Mac graphics drivers, you're running through DirectX, then Parallels, than the Mac graphics drivers...
     
  10. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #10
    agreed, virtual machines are NOT made for any gaming.
     
  11. Loramarthalas macrumors member

    Loramarthalas

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    #11
    Agreed, bootcamp is the clearly the best way to go. Or just use OSX where you can -- like for SC2.

    But, if push comes to shove, you can use Paralells to play games. It is not ideal, not even that good actually. But you can do it. And the software maker is working at improving it, so in the future it will become a more acceptable option.
     
  12. bossxii macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #12
    I agree, but then again iMac's are not made for gaming either. If you consider yourself a gamer... save yourself the grief and just build a gaming rig. I use mainly laptops and enjoy my MBP but built a desktop PC for the gaming, encoding and other graphic/CPU intensive work. I love OSX, but simply can't overlook the fact the GPU's are pretty much 24 months behind the times. Not to mention possible throttled for heat considerations and for the avg user not upgradeable for any reasonable price anyhow.

    However, if your going to game, go with bootcamp. VM client is going to force you to share resouces, no sense in cutting your Ram and GPU memeory in half/or less than the limited amount the iMac has to begin with.

    Not hating on the iMac's, just being realistic about gaming.
     
  13. AlexisV macrumors 68000

    AlexisV

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #13
    I'm a gamer and quite happy being able to play F1 2010 at 1950 with everything turned up to high :D
     
  14. bossxii macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #14
    On a 21.5" iMac? with 256meg 4670 mobile GPU? I find that a bit hard to believe as I've not seen my brother in laws 27" 09 with 512 4850 play much at all on High/Ultra settings at native res.

    If he was going to purchase the top end 27" with 5970 1gig GPU I'd say he has a far better chance of being happy with the gaming performance.
     

Share This Page