Resolved Parts of Minecraft window not clickable on 15" rMBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ideal.dreams, Nov 7, 2012.

  1. ideal.dreams, Nov 7, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2013

    ideal.dreams macrumors 68020

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #1
    Solution: To anyone else having this issue:

    1. Ensure you are using Apple's Java 6 and not Oracle's Java 7. Watch this video for instructions on how to downgrade from Java 7 to Java 6.

    2. Go here to download an experimental version of LWJGL. Click here to download it directly.

    3. Once downloaded, go to ~/Library/Application Support/minecraft/bin and replace the file "lwjgl.jar" and the folder "native" with the new files from the above experimental download.

    Once the above steps are completed, Minecraft should work as normal.


    I can only click on things in the area in the red box in the picture below when I play Minecraft. I am unable to click on anything outside of that area. The cursor just stops right along the outline like the screen stops there or something. This was not a problem on my 2009 17" MBP. Any ideas?

    Edit: Forgot to mention that if I don't play full screen I can still click on everything. The bigger I make the window, the less I can click on.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. markus843 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Location:
    North america
    #2
    Honestly you should go to the minecraft forums, Here

    They'd probably help you out more than macrumors.

    :apple:
     
  3. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #3
    Make sure Java is up to date? I've never run into this issue.
     
  4. ideal.dreams thread starter macrumors 68020

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #4
    I thought this too and hoped the recent Java update would fix the issue but no luck.

    If it helps, I'm using an external monitor, but the same thing happens when I move the window to the primary display.
     
  5. reery macrumors regular

    reery

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    #5
    Are you playing in OS X or Boot Camp?
    If Boot Camp then I may know why it is like this.
     
  6. DT39 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    #6
    I've been using Minecraft in OS X for Months never had this problem.
    Unless like somebody else suggested that you are running in boot camp then i don't know as i never run boot camp.
     
  7. ideal.dreams thread starter macrumors 68020

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #7
    I am not running Minecraft in Bootcamp, as you can tell by the three buttons in the top left hand corner of the window :p.
     
  8. ideal.dreams thread starter macrumors 68020

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #8
    Forgot to mention that it only happens in full screen. If I play windowed I can click on everything normally. The bigger I make the window, the less I can click on. Not sure if this helps or not.
     
  9. MasterHowl macrumors 65816

    MasterHowl

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    North of England
    #9
    Are you sure your specs are high enough to run it?
     
  10. ideal.dreams thread starter macrumors 68020

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #10
    I would hope 8GB of RAM, a Quad Core i7 processor and a dedicated graphics chip would be enough to run it.

    And like I said, I didn't have this issue on my Mid-2009 17" MBP and that was on a core 2 duo processor.
     
  11. MasterHowl macrumors 65816

    MasterHowl

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    North of England
    #11
    (I was joking :p)
     
  12. ideal.dreams thread starter macrumors 68020

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #12
    Sorry, sarcasm doesn't translate well over text :p

    Anyone have any ideas or should I take this to the Minecraft forum?
     
  13. ideal.dreams thread starter macrumors 68020

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #13
    Bumping this thread with the hopes that someone else may have encountered this issue? Even on the latest version of Minecraft/Java, this issue still occurs. I am completely clueless as to why it's happening.
     
  14. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #14
    Yeah, its a problem with LWJGL. I see that you are using modded MC, if you use MultiMC then you can try changing the LWJGL version until it works. If you are on Tekkit or FTB, ask in their support forums.
     
  15. xShane macrumors 6502a

    xShane

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Location:
    United States
    #15
    I can't really tell you how to fix this, but I can explain it.

    The reason is: When you are playing in full screen, the game itself still "thinks" it's windowed. So that's why when you click outside the "window" (not really, because you're in full screen), nothing responds, because to the game, you're clicking "outside" the "window", even though it's in full screen.

    Does this make sense? :p
     
  16. ideal.dreams, Jan 6, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2013

    ideal.dreams thread starter macrumors 68020

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #16
    This does make sense to me, but why is it happening? The only thing that's changed is my computer. I upgraded from a 17" MBP to 15" rMBP. I still have the same external monitor, same version of java and same version of Minecraft. Why is this different on the newer MacBook?


    I use ModLoader. Is is easy to change the LWJGL version? I'm not using Tekkit or FTB, just ModLoader with SinglePlayerCommands and TooManyItems.
     
  17. suclearnub macrumors member

    suclearnub

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Location:
    Equestria
    #17
    An Enderman took your screen space. Tough luck.
     
  18. ideal.dreams thread starter macrumors 68020

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #18
    Thanks but I'm more interested in solutions :p
     
  19. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #19
    Well, try MultiMC, it makes managing mods and multiple Minecraft versions very easy. You can also change the LWJGL version manually, google it. It can get messy though. I recommend MultiMC.
     
  20. ideal.dreams, Jan 7, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2013

    ideal.dreams thread starter macrumors 68020

    ideal.dreams

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Location:
    OH
    #20
    Updated original post with instructions to resolve this issue.

    I asked for help there and not a single person responded to the thread.
     
  21. xShane macrumors 6502a

    xShane

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Location:
    United States
    #21
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page