PC vista to newer iMac 24" Alum Airport

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by triplejadogg, Mar 30, 2009.

  1. triplejadogg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    #1
    Hi all,

    Ok I'm extremely new to the mac. I just purchased the iMac 24" this weekend 3/27/09. I was told by the sales rep that I can run the wireless internet to PC from the Airport app that the iMac comes with.[ network sharing]???

    Well, I got it set up and it shows up on my PC, the PC sees it I just can't connect to the internet. Does anybody know how or what I need to do to get this going right???



    The set up is
    Cable Modem/ hard line router. To my Xbox[2]/ iMac/ PC desktop/ and I wan't to run the Sharing from the iMac to provide the internet to my PC laptop.

    Thanks in advance for you help.
     
  2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    Does the AirPort icon in your menu bar look like this?
     

    Attached Files:

  3. triplejadogg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    #3
    No, I think it just has the satelite signals going up. I don't think I've seen the arrow.

    what does that mean
     
  4. txnoob macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    #4
    Think it means you don't really have internet sharing set up.
     
  5. triplejadogg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    #5
    I'm sorry.. I have no idea how to set it up... what do I have to do?
     
  6. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #6
    In Leopard:

     -> System Preferences -> Sharing -> Internet Sharing

    Choose to share your connection from ethernet to computers using AirPort. Go into AirPort Options and give your network a name and password. Once that's done, tick the checkbox beside Internet Sharing in the list.
     
  7. Bacong macrumors 68000

    Bacong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Westland, Michigan
    #7
    Why can't you just connect both computers wirelessly?
     
  8. triplejadogg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    #8
    Thank you very much... I will try that when I get back home!!!!!!!
     
  9. triplejadogg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    #9


    I don't have a wireless router. I use a hardline router to run everything. Including my laptop before I got the iMac, I want to be able to give my laptop the wife to use around the house.
     
  10. Bacong macrumors 68000

    Bacong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Westland, Michigan
    #10
    Hmm...ok, sorry. But wireless routers aren't expensive these days.
     
  11. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #11
    Be that as it may, I prefer to operate using internet sharing as well. Setup is much simpler than with a router. The only downsides are that the host computer must always be running when you want to use the clients (not a problem for me) and that you can only use the insecure WEP encryption protocol.
     
  12. triplejadogg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    #12
    I agree... but I figure since the mac has the ability to allow my PC to go wireless, I might as well use it at least for now.
     
  13. triplejadogg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    #13
    K, Blurev I tried doing what you said. Now my PC says "the wireless authentication settings on this cpu do not match the requirements of this network".
     
  14. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
  15. triplejadogg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    #15
    it never prompt me for a password, it was trying to connect then gave me that error
     
  16. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #16
    Maybe someone else can help you out there. I don't know that much about wireless networking on Windows, and it sounds like that's where the problem lies.
     
  17. triplejadogg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    #17
    k, thanks for your help...

    btw I have that arrow facing up now...:)
     

Share This Page