Phone replaced on Thursday - now replacement phone is faulty!! *ANOTHER FAULTY PHONE!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by BadboyHouse, Jan 14, 2012.

  1. BadboyHouse, Jan 14, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2012

    BadboyHouse macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    #1
    so my first iPhone 4S had to be exchanged on Thursday due to no 3G signal after coming off wifi (even after restores, sim card changes etc).

    anyway, i got the phone exchanged on thursday and I thought all was well.

    I came to use the phone today for a call for the first time and the person I was speaking to couldn't hear me! I could hear them fine.

    I made some other calls to test it and every time the person on the other end couldn't hear me. Speakerphone is fine though.

    Done the usual restore etc but nothing.

    Will be calling my provider Monday first thing to arrange another replacement.

    damn phone
     
  2. Votekinky06 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #2
    If you replace it enough you'll get one that works;)
     
  3. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #3
    Sorry to hear you are experiencing problems
    I know how frustrating that can be, but "it" happens :(

    Hopefully you will get it taken care of soon and be up and running
     
  4. BadboyHouse thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    #4
    Yeah its not so bad.

    Its easy enough to sort out - it's on a business contract so all I did before was call up the provider and they had a replacement shipped out for next day delivery to the office.

    Its easier doing it this way than making an appointment at the genius bar.

    Still an awesome phone though.
     
  5. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #5
    I had that happen. I replaced my phone due to grainy speaker issues then got a phone where it was stuck in Headphones mode regardless of restore. Replaced it again then swapped for a White one now.
     
  6. lordofthereef macrumors G4

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    I have had good luck with every model except the 3G. One had bad pixels. Then the speaker didn;t work. Then there was dust under the screen. I was ready to just say "F it all!" but fourth time was the charm for me. Have had every iPhone since and never had problem (outside the one the lady thought needed to be washed with my pants). ;)

    Good luck!
     
  7. BadboyHouse thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    #7
    Cheers

    I am actually contemplating a switch to a white 4S. That is if the provider will swap out a white one for me. Worth a try.
     
  8. BadboyHouse thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    #8
    Got the exchange phone today. Went for a black one.

    So far so good no problems found. Fingers crossed.
     
  9. BadboyHouse thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    #9
    I was wrong.

    The replacement phone has started saying "SIM FAILURE". Then "INVALID SIM" in the top left hand corner.

    I can't really believe its another faulty phone.

    I'm using the same sim card that I've had since last October. I will probably have to try a different sim card before getting it exchanged again.

    Thoughts?
     
  10. DankNugz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #10
    As you said, try a different sim card first and if that doesn't work then take it back and get another replacement.
     
  11. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #11
    It must be the SIM....This trick has worked for me in the past:

    1) with a soft sponge and a TINY bit of soapy water, gently wipe the contacts on the sim.

    2) Use an anti static cloth to THROUGHLY dry the contacts on the sim.

    Ensure it's totally dry, and try it again. If that fails, then a new one will hopefully sort things out.
     
  12. Jordan921 macrumors 68040

    Jordan921

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #12
    I had the same issues as your first phone. Genius told me it was sim card so it got that replaced but it didn't help. So I went back and got a replacement and everything is working fine now.
     
  13. cynics macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #13
    It's a sign from above. Try a different phone. I got 14 for our company and everyone has been flawless. All black 16gb 4s's.
     
  14. AlPlPlLE macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    #14
    If its the Apple Store your referring to as the provider, then no. You won't be able to swap out the phone for a white one. I will be same size and color as the one your turning into them. And the good thing about it is...Just by for some unlucky reason you keep getting bad phones from the Apple Store, they'll keep swapping it out. So long as its an identifiable hardware issue with the phone.
     
  15. BadboyHouse thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    #15
    Well I think I've figure out what triggers the Sim Failure/Invalid Sim error.

    I left the phone on charge over night as normal (phone switched on). No sim error when I took it off charge. I left it while I got ready, phone still fine afterwards.

    Then I started using the phone - checking out my usual sites, bejewelled blitz for a few minutes.

    Then bam - Sim Failure/Invalid Sim.

    It's happening when the phone gets warm.

    This also makes sense because it was ok all yesterday afternoon when I got the phone (but wasn't actively using it) then last night, when I wa actively using it - I got the sim errors.

    I will try a different sim today but I'm expecting another faulty phone here.
     
  16. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #16
    It does look that that way, heat causes expansion and something is losing contact. How unlucky can you be! I hope the next one works!!
     
  17. SPEEDwithJJ macrumors 65816

    SPEEDwithJJ

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #17
    Yeah, just unlucky. :( A swap of the SIM card &/or iPhone will solve the problem.

    Good luck. :)
     
  18. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #18
    Try updating to 9a406; I could've sworn that it was meant to deal with some kind of invalid sim issue
     
  19. BadboyHouse thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    #19
    Ok, well I've got some good news on this.

    I called up my provider today, but this time spoke to our business contract account manager (rather than tech support). I actually needed to speak to him about some billing matters.

    Anyway, during the conversation he asked how things were going with the new contract, I said that everything was generally fine, but that i was now on my third iphone 4S, and it looked like I was going to need a fourth.

    To cut long story short, he apologised and said that he didn't want any of his busines customers to have to mess around swapping phones multiple times due to faults etc.

    He's arranged to send me a brand new phone (white this time), new sim card, and also get the other phone replaced via exchange. So I will have two phones. Both delivered tomorrow.
     
  20. SPEEDwithJJ macrumors 65816

    SPEEDwithJJ

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #20
    Nice. Your business contract account manager is awesome! :D
     
  21. Jordan921, Jan 18, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2012

    Jordan921 macrumors 68040

    Jordan921

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #21
    Haha jackpot! Hopefully you don't have anymore issues.
     
  22. Rocko1 macrumors 68020

    Rocko1

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
  23. BadboyHouse thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    #23
    ??
     
  24. Rocko1 macrumors 68020

    Rocko1

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    #24
    ???????????????????
     
  25. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #25
    In addition to what Rocko('s Modern Life. Haha.) is suggesting, make sure you have the later build of iOS 5.0.1 on your new 4S. The invalid/no sim issue was a known issue with the 4S on the first build. Restoring as new through iTunes should remedy that problem.
     

Share This Page