Phone Service Cancelled and Phone Given To Me To Use As MP3 Player...

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by VincentNerva, Jun 22, 2010.

  1. VincentNerva macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #1
    So I deleted everything on it within the Reset settings. When I connected the phone to my Itunes for the first time, it said the phone is now activated, what does that really mean? It doesn't mean the service has been activated again has it? Thanks for any help.
     
  2. appleguy123 macrumors 604

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #2
    There is no sim card in it right? If not you have absolutely nothing to worry about.
     
  3. VincentNerva thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #3
    im not sure. how would I know if there is one in it or not?
     
  4. NYRGirardi5 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Location:
    Long Island
    #4
    on the top of the phone there is a little pin hole, get a pin or something and poke it, a tray will pop out where the sim card should be.
     
  5. VincentNerva thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    #5
    ok cool thanks. i took that out now. but should i be worried about the fact that it activated the iphone over itunes while the sim card was still in the phone?
     
  6. appleguy123 macrumors 604

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #6
    I don't think that that happens but you may want to contact AT&T just in case.
     
  7. kyleaa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    #7
    The activation it is referring to is of the device, not the service. You should leave the SIM in there - any time you do a restore or upgrade of the software iTunes must activate the device. It will not be activated for service when this happens - iTunes hasn't been able to do that since the original iPhone, and that activation involved a full credit check and such.
     
  8. appleguy123 macrumors 604

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #8
    You don't need a sim to update in iTunes. My 2g was aimless for a long time before I sold it.
     
  9. kyleaa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    #9
    For a restore you do
     
  10. appleguy123 macrumors 604

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #10
    MAybe that changed somewhere along the line, but for my 2g and 3g I didn't.
     

Share This Page