pictures draged from internet, the pictures icon is cover in gray, and the pic is ok

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by benlangdon, Dec 1, 2008.

  1. benlangdon macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #1
    i am getting this weird problem when i grab pictures from the internet and drag them to my desktop.

    first it will take a couple seconds for it to fully download and if you look at it before its done there will be a gray spot over the part it hasn't gotten yet.
    now im all dandy with that.

    but in the image on the icon it will still have half the picture cut off. its strange, and never is consistant. sometimes it will do it to the same file downloaded multiple times.

    i have tried not opening it till its fully done and a few other things that i should not have to do.

    here is what im talking about.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Did a restart of the computer work?

    Sometimes it's a graphic glitch. Maybe just restarting the Finder might help (Command + Option/Alt + Esc).
     
  3. benlangdon thread starter macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #3
    so... restart finder every time it does that?
    it just happened again by the way
     
  4. Shawnstra macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Location:
    Singapore
    #4
    Are you sure you have only clicked Copy when the image is fully loaded? Even if you click copy and wait for it to load, only the half loaded image will be copied to the clipboard. Sorry if this sound stupid but I had this before and this was the cause :D
     
  5. benlangdon thread starter macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #5
    no ya i preview it sometimes, if i don't, i guess its fully loaded

    but this is buggin.
    can not wait for Christmas break, going to do a fresh install
     
  6. BobZune macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    You can use something like CocoThumbX to delete the thumbnails so they get recreated automatically properly. It has come in handy for me many times.
     
  7. benlangdon thread starter macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #7
    nice thank you, going to try it.
    finally someone knows anything about what im talking about :)

    edit:
    just tested it and works great, didn't have time to test other featers besides add thumbnail
     

Share This Page