Please help with 4s speed on att

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Surfer13134, Nov 21, 2011.

  1. Surfer13134, Nov 21, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2011

    Surfer13134 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    #1
    Hi guys,I need you help, So I just got my 4s yesterday and love it so much. I had a iphone 4, so I was browsing the web on my 4s today and noticed it was kinda slow so I did a speed test 1.50 mbps down 0.55 up with a ping of 190. So I get my old iphone 4 and did the same test right next to the 4s and got the following 4.10 mbps down 1.07 up with a ping of 217. What the heck is going on why is it that my old iphone 4 is getting faster speeds than my 4s? They both have 3 bars of coverage actually the iphone 4 had 4 bars when I took the test,but can anyone shed some light because I thought the 4s was supposed to be faster. I have att and live in a full coverage area that even supports 4g coverage. If these speeds are normal just let me know im just confused at this point thank you for your help.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. saving107 macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #2
    The image to the left (iPhone 4) shows that you are doing a speed to while on WiFi.

    Edit:

    I see that you have removed that image, did you find your answer?
     
  3. Surfer13134 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    #3

    I caught that image I had to turn wifi on then take a screen capture to get it to upload to photo stream,I put the actual image of the 3g photo.
     
  4. Surfer13134 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    #4
    Now I just took another one on my 4s and got these speeds as follow note I do know I have an extra bar,are these speeds normal? Or could att just be having difficulty with there towers?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #5
    Do you have the data plan specifically for the 4S under your line?
     
  6. Surfer13134 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Yea I do,I have the grand fathered unlimited plan.
     
  7. GadgetGeek407 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Location:
    florida
    #7
    im interested in this cause I'm wanting to switch from sprint to att in Orlando
     
  8. Surfer13134 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    This is where I'm located also,I'm hoping it AT&T towers. Because right now I'm getting some what average speeds on the 4s. I just want to know why the heck my older iPhone 4 was getting better speeds lol
     
  9. trek360 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    #9
    how does the iphone 4s data plan differ?

    I noticed that my data plan is still on my old iphone unlimited version and is set to switch over to 4s unlimited next week. Wasn't sure if I should call in and have them do that sooner. (I have no idea why the guy at the att store set it up like that)
     
  10. Jordan921 macrumors 68040

    Jordan921

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #10
    They offer different plan for 4S for hspa+
     
  11. Chumburro2U macrumors 6502

    Chumburro2U

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Location:
    I Love L.A.
    #11
    Do tell
     
  12. omgitscro macrumors 6502a

    omgitscro

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #12
    Some users had reported higher 3G speeds after switching to the 4S-specific plan. I can report faster speeds after the switch here in Boston.
     
  13. thatoneguy82 macrumors 68000

    thatoneguy82

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Beach Cities, CA
    #13
    My plan was automatically switch the 4S plan when I upgraded. Not really sure if there were any speed improvements.
     
  14. Surfer13134 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    #14
    You guys are correct!! I called and my iphone 4s was not on the right data plan thats why my speeds were so bad,They switched it and I can already see a difference. Thank you SOOO much for your help guys!!!!!!
     
  15. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #15
    Heh, that's what I was referring to in my previous post.
    Can you post a screenshot the newer speeds? Just want to see the difference.
     
  16. joeshmo2010 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #16
    4S plan has the correct apn settings to utilize HSPA+
     
  17. ShionoyaTamaki macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #17
    I have grandfathered unlimited data plan.
    Getting about 7-9Mbps download and 1.5-1.9Mbps upload

    Maybe try resetting network configurations on your iphone4s?
     
  18. Surfer13134 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    #18
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I'm getting about 3.5 Mbps down and about 1.5 Mbps up and I am inside and only have around 3 bars. I compared it to videos testing the speed and I have about the same as them so I'm pretty happy. I'll post a picture when I get back from work.
     
  19. ShionoyaTamaki macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #19
    3.5Mbps could mean that HSPA+ is not available in your area yet or it could be due to lower reception.
     
  20. Surfer13134 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    #20
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I am in a 4G area. What should my speeds be?
     
  21. SooneratND macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    #21
    I've seen speeds up to 7.5 Mbps down and 1.5 Mbps up in my area. It's highly dependent on where you are though and how many people are using it.
     
  22. Surfer13134 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    #22
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I see,when I look at the covarge map is the 4G area of the map the HSPA+? Or should I be looking at something else?
     
  23. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #23
    You should be getting, like, 5Mbps. Maybe it's a bit slower since you only have 3 bars though.
     
  24. Surfer13134 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    #24
    I just checked and I am in a full 4G HSPA+ area.

    I am going to go and find a area where I have full coverage and report back with my speeds. Thanks again
     
  25. MattMJB0188 macrumors 68000

    MattMJB0188

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #25
    I was about a yard away from 2 different AT&T HSPA+ cell sites and the highest I got was 5Mbps. I believe time of day is going to have the most effect on speeds. AT&T has a lot of people using their network which results in slower speeds. Last night I ran several speedtests on my iPhone 4s but at 1 in the morning and was averaging 5.5Mbps when in the middle of the day I average 1-3Mbps.
     

Share This Page