Please Recommend a computer desk for taking care of a 27 iMac and Dell U2711

Discussion in 'iMac' started by tigereat, Sep 1, 2010.

1. tigereat macrumors regular

I'm looking for a computer desk that will be able to take care a 27 iMac and a Dell U2711.

I'm a Developer but I already spent a lot of money for those two 27 inch monitors. So my budget is not over $200

Any advice?

2. Fishrrman macrumors G4

Have you considered a simple 72"x30" "conference table"? The kind with folding legs?

These are available at most office-supply stores, maybe even Walmart.

No, they are not "elegant" like a "fancy" desk might be, but they offer LOTS of desktop "real estate" (especially for 2 large displays) and can be had for $50-60 (maybe even less).

I've been using a couple for years, and they hold up very well.

3. mrvanagon macrumors newbie

Here's a desk I like but it's a little over your budget at $250. The one I have is a simple corner model from Sauder that I got from an office supply store. I wouldn't think it would cost any more than 200 bucks. Craigslist can be a good source for desks and tables. If you have the room, an old kitchen table would probably work well and could be had for very little money.

4. tigereat thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks you all,

I forgot to say I prefer my desk with pretty high depth (25)and width (60) because I dont want to sit too close to those 27 inch displays. My eyes could be hurt since I usually spend my time in front of the computer more than 10 hours a day

or a desk with a drawer would be nice . So I can put my mac keyboard on and back off myself a little bit
    Any more advice

I have my eyes on this one

http://www.officedepot.com/a/products/200593/Realspace-Dawson-60-Computer-Desk-30/?cm_cat=2000000353

The problem i found on the reviews is It takes time to resemble ot about 3-4 Hours :eek:

5. hkmoul macrumors newbie