PLZ HELP about to buy an imac.. 1 thing is bothering me

Discussion in 'iMac' started by iRusso, Dec 29, 2007.

  1. iRusso macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #1
    hey everyone,im iRUsso. im new to the forums so i dunno if im in the right section i have a question. I might get an imac . the 2.0ghx 20 inch , 1gb of ram with the hd 2400xt whatver.. i want to know if its going to be good for the counter-strike 1.6. plz i need to know ... i have a windows xp cd ill instlal bootcamp and theni would like to instlal steam but idunno if its good enaugh for cs .1.6 .. the main reason why im getting an imac is because i love apple but never got one cuz my brother baught a pc and i ha dto use but i love apple since i was young but thats the mian thing thats bothering me is just will it be fine for cs 1.6 and dont forget im talking aboutg the 2400xt here .. plz help.
     
  2. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #2
    I don't know the answer, but I was just wondering... is this game for Windows or for Mac?
     
  3. iRusso thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
  4. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
  5. iRusso thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #5
    thank god ..
    but would u know the fps?

    thanks
     
  6. ab2650 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #6
    He may not be from the same country as you. Please show some respect as not everything is Southern Florida centric in this world.

    P.S., If you don't have anything worthwhile to contribute, why spend the time to demean someone else's non-native tongue?
     
  7. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #7
    Please keep in mind that you're talking about a mod that hasn't changed in over two and half years.

    The base iMac is more than powerful enough (CPU and graphics-wise) to handle it. I'm not sure of the FPS, but, again, you're talking about a game that came out years ago. It will rock on the iMac.
     
  8. MacNerd12 macrumors member

    MacNerd12

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #8
    It should work fine.

    As said before, it is an old game. The ATI Radeon HD 2400XT is plenty power for it, and definetly the processor is.

    I suggest you get the iMac, I am using the base one, upgraded to 3GB of ram yesterday. It's a few days old, and I love it!

    :cool:
     
  9. iRusso thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #9
    k thanks.. if i get more ram thats means it will run better right.? ow mujch is it to add another ram
     
  10. ryannel2003 macrumors 68000

    ryannel2003

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    #10
    Adding more RAM usually doesn't help when it comes to video games... it all depends on the GPU. The 2400 is a fine GPU, and should run the game fine. As for RAM, it depends on how much you want. 4GB's will usually run you anywhere from $80 to $130 depending on what vendor you use. When I recommend RAM, I always say Crucial:

    http://www.crucial.com

    However, Crucial RAM is cheaper through NewEgg. I've upgraded 3 machines with Crucial and never had any issues. Hope that answers your question.
     
  11. Siriosys macrumors regular

    Siriosys

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #11
    If this helps, I'm running Quake III Arena at it's maximum resolution and I still get a whopping 88 - 90 FPS constently regardless of how 'busy' the game is at the time....truly awesome, I was getting nothing like this on my PC before I switched. I know Quake uses OpenGL, but it ran bloody fast in Bootcamp for the small time that I tried it. I'm sure you won't be disappointed, providing you can et it to run properly. Have a look around the Internet for Couterstrike and Bootcamp combined to see if anybody has optimised their settings at all for this config.




    Cheers
     
  12. dammitjanet@gma macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    #12
    i was getting 80-90fps running Half-life 2 and CS:Source with no-AA, absolutely no issues at all.
     
  13. MacNerd12 macrumors member

    MacNerd12

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #13
    Crucial is the best for RAM. I upgraded to 3GB from 1GB by putting in a 2GB stick. It cost me 74.99 on Crucial.
    :apple:
     

Share This Page