Plz help Ram Problem QuickLookUIservice Beta 10.13

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by dan9700, Jul 16, 2017.

  1. dan9700 macrumors 68020

    dan9700

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    #1
    Plz can someone help I have the maxed out 2017 MacBook Pro and with the new high siiera beta 3 my ram keeps getting maxed out and this is the problem QuickLookUIservice is it safe to close it and it just keeps coming back, what is it and is it a beta problem cos it seems to be making my machine slow and eats so much ram up, look at the pics

    many thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    The only help I can offer is to ask if you have reported it to Apple yet ...
     
  3. casperes1996 macrumors 68040

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #3
    So, you had a few questions there...

    1) Is it safe to close it? – Yes it is. However, in my experiences with the beta, it hasn't been responding properly to SIGTERM and I've had to send it SIGKILL (signal 9).

    2) What is it? – So you know how when you select a file in the Finder and click the spacebar, you then get a preview of the file? That's what this process gives.

    3) Is it a beta problem? – From what I've seen, QuickLook does seem to misbehave a bit throughout the High Sierra betas. In my case, what I've experienced, is that it unnecessarily hangs attached devices.

    And something you didn't ask, but I want to comment on
    4) – Whilst it's definitely more RAM usage than it should be, it really doesn't seem like that much in the grand scheme of things. From your photo it's using less than 2 gigs. On a 16 gigs machine that isn't hosing a VM or doing RAM intensive tasks that should be no sweat at all. As long as your RAM usage is less than 100% it doesn't matter how much is being used in terms of speed. Well, aside from the fact that the more active memory is in place, less can be used for intelligent caching.
    How does Memory Pressure look in Activity Monitor? If it isn't near the top in the red, I wouldn't worry about RAM.
     
  4. dan9700 thread starter macrumors 68020

    dan9700

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    #4
    thanks for this, yeah sometimes it stays small like the photo then if I'm using vlc etc it can go all the way up and my clean my Mac 3 says ram is used up and it uses about 10gig, it seems to be running in the background for a while like 3 hours etc.
     
  5. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    I think one great help would be to remove (uninstall) Clean My Mac, which may not yet be fully compatible with HSierrra beta.
    Maintenance utilities that run full time make even less sense on a beta OS.
     
  6. dan9700 thread starter macrumors 68020

    dan9700

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    #6
    Thanks for your response to be fair it happened before i used cleanmymac and i was looking in activity to see usage and thats where i found the quickuilook takinh huge ammount of cpu and ram power
     
  7. casperes1996 macrumors 68040

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #7
    The advice given to not use Clean My Mac on beta software is entirely valid, and should be followed, albeit not relevant to the case at hand.

    QuickLook is meant to be an always running process in the background, however, its impact on system performance should be incredibly small under normal circumstances. As I said, the betas so far have all seemed to have issues with QuickLook's UI server one way or another. I'm yet to experience memory leaks like you have, but frequently it interferes with disk unmounting/ejecting at times when it shouldn't, and I've even experienced it getting stuck, so I couldn't close a Quick Look window.
     
  8. dan9700 thread starter macrumors 68020

    dan9700

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    #8
    Point taken i deleted cleanmymac could i ask if my quick look windows in ram is so high is it safe to shut it down in activity monitor
     
  9. casperes1996 macrumors 68040

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #9
    There is no harm in shutting it down at all. Quick Look only performs read operations, so it can always be shut down with no side effects, aside from perhaps visual glitches. I've had to send it SIGKILL a few times (the harshest way of killing a process on UNIX systems).
     
  10. ryxn macrumors regular

    ryxn

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    #10
    I’ve experienced this problem myself since Beta 2. It happens infrequently, but every time it does I just boot up Activity Monitor and force quit it.
     
  11. dan9700 thread starter macrumors 68020

    dan9700

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    #11
    Yeah im doing the same, hope next beta its fixed or gonna maybe downgrade back to Sierra
     
  12. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #12
    Just adding on that it happens on occasion with me as well. A force quit through Activity Monitor brings it back in line. I think I did have an external drive plugged in at the time that I was using Quick Look.
     
  13. Populus macrumors 6502a

    Populus

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Location:
    Valencia, Spain.
    #13
    High Sierra has a serious RAM issue. With a large PDF, which takes 1 or 2GB of RAM on Sierra, on High Sierra takes 12GB of RAM. Fortunately most of it compressed, but even so, my 8GB of RAM started to get yellow.

    The most important question to make here is... Are we going to raise the minimum of memory RAM in High Sierra in order to have a confortable use of our machines? I'm asking this because I can return my new MacBook Pro and get a 16GB one. But I'd prefer to stay at 8GB...

    Do you feel High Sierra to be more memory hungry (like it was Lion)?
     
  14. ryxn macrumors regular

    ryxn

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    #14
    I've noticed more memory usage - but I've attributed a lot of that to random bugs that have occurred.

    For example, I experienced a bug with Calendar that required me to delete all of its cache in order for it to operate properly. Before that, my CPU and RAM usage was insane.

    I think it's too early on to tell if the RAM usage is due to High Sierra simply needing more to run efficiently, or if it's all because of being a beta.
     
  15. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #15
    That pdf issue has been around since El Capitan, you can watch it increase as you scroll through the document. I've seen Preview hit 23 GB of memory before.
     
  16. Populus macrumors 6502a

    Populus

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Location:
    Valencia, Spain.
    #16
    In my Sierra Mac, that PDF grows from 300 to 600 or even 800MB. Maybe over time, 1GB.
    In the High Sierra PB2, same PDF, same system specs, same software installed, it takes 12GB from the start.

    Clearly not the same.

    But don't worry, I've reported it twice to Apple. Hope they read the Beta reports.
     
  17. k9gardner macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    #17
    We're now quite past the High Sierra betas and these kinds of problems are persisting. I'm focused particularly on your #4 here; saying the 2 GB should be no problem on a machine not hosting a VM or doing RAM-intensive tasks is great, but I am hosting a VM and doing RAM-intensive tasks (well, nowadays everything seems RAM-intensive, as others have pointed out). For me though the problem is not always just the memory hogging, but the processor. My system was bogging down horribly and it's usually the VM when in sleep mode, but this time Activity Monitor showed QuickLookUIService was using 275% of CPU resources!

    I'm not sure what triggered it but it then went to red "not responding" status, dropped to a mere 160%, and I had to force quit. Immediately upon doing so VirtualBox VM and linkedin (for some reason!) rushed in to fill the void, each showing 95-99% CPU usage, although the chart at the bottom dropped from being pegged at the line, down to about half way.

    None of this is a big deal if it's still leaving clearance to proceed with the work, but I literally have to
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, sans-serif]stop working and wait for things to respond in order to do anything, at least a couple times a day it seems, all since High Sierra. Currently 10.13.2. I dannae is she can take any more, Captain! Screen Shot 2018-01-30 at 8.17.38 PM.png Screen Shot 2018-01-30 at 8.30.14 PM.png [/FONT]
     
  18. casperes1996 macrumors 68040

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #18

    Sorry, made, but I have no issues with High Sierra on either of my systems, so i cannot truthfully complain about these issues, as to me there have been no issues. i will acknowledge that you still have problems, but since HS has worked as well as Sierra for me, well, a tad better in fact, I can't say HS is riddled with issues like you make it seem. It obviously has issues since you're having these problems, but they don't manifest themselves for all
     
  19. Flipingreat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2018
    #19
    QuicklookUIService is just NOT releasing memory..

    I have spent a lot time looking into this QuicklookUIService issue.. My findings are clear cut, easily repeatable, (On my Mac Pro) and at the same time easy workaround until fixed.All seemed good until the Update to High Sierra.

    Open Activity Monitor - select the memory Tab order by size
    Open up a finder window, (Preview window on top) navigate to any where with the finder,
    I have a OBJ directory with a set of 3D objects all above 50MB, after scrolling past maybe 10 of the files, previewing in finder. I see the QuicklookUIService memory footprint shoot unto over 4GB, I continue for 5 mins scanning my finder files, and voila, Finder HANG! no more response from finder. I waited 30 seconds and all starts moving again.

    QuicklookUIService memory footprint now at 29GB in size.

    So Immediately I head to the Activity window and Kill the Process (Force Quit ONLY works) and voila,
    All goes back to normal, Finder responsive, applications working. QuickLookUIService restarts and away you go again.

    Don-t bother using the qlmanage -r, it does reset all needed for the quicklookd, but does nothing to freaup the memory footprint for the QuickLookUIService.

    I have repeated this on 3 of my Mac Pro systems, and all show the exact same behaviour.
    However, my MacBook Pro Same OS 10.13.4 does not see this behaviour, and can survive a long time browsing the SAME file as the Mac Pro's.

    I wish someone could help me !!!
     
  20. casperes1996 macrumors 68040

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #20

    I had this issue in the beta of 10.13, but it went away with the GM for me
     

Share This Page