Poll: DSL installation

atszyman

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Sep 16, 2003
2,442
1
The Dallas 'burbs
I have become completely fed up with Comcast's cable mode service and have been switching over to SBC DSL and Direct TV which should end up saving us ~$20 per month for roughly the same service.

So the DSL modem came in the mail with the associated filters and setup software. So in the process of installation I had to make multiple calls to tech support and now a technician needs to come out today to check on the phone distribution in our neighborhood to figure out why they can't seem to talk to my modem and why I can't get out. (They don't think it's wiring in my house since I get good sync pulses). Talking to my co-workers it dawned on me that I have never heard of anyone who has gotten the welcome packet for DSL that has not had to make at least one call to tech support to get it installed.

So the question: Is there anyone out there who has recieved a welcome packet for DSL/Cable Modem and actually managed to get everything set up without calling tech support? If so who is your service provider?

Edit: added service provider question.
 

yellow

Moderator emeritus
Oct 21, 2003
15,925
1
Portland, OR
atszyman said:
So the question: Is there anyone out there who has recieved a welcome packet for DSL/Cable Modem and actually managed to get everything set up without calling tech support?
Yes.
 

atszyman

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Sep 16, 2003
2,442
1
The Dallas 'burbs
Ok, you guys are the first two that I have ever heard of. Who are your service providers?

Note: I have edited the original to also pose this question, to see if there are some providers who have managed to get it right.
 

bousozoku

Moderator emeritus
Jun 25, 2002
13,951
3
Gone but not forgotten.
I'm dealing with BellSouth DSL and I actually had it up and running before I read the instructions or used their software. Later, their service had been down for hours and when I talked to technical support, they suggested that I use their setup CD-ROM to configure the networking rather than what I did.
 

mad jew

Moderator emeritus
Apr 3, 2004
32,194
6
Adelaide, Australia
I'm using Internode and it was only a matter of plugging in the components in the directed order and putting in my password. As easy as pie (assuming it's a very easy pie of course). No problems here. :D
 

iSaint

macrumors 603
bousozoku said:
I'm dealing with BellSouth DSL and I actually had it up and running before I read the instructions or used their software. Later, their service had been down for hours and when I talked to technical support, they suggested that I use their setup CD-ROM to configure the networking rather than what I did.
I did the same when I was on BellSouth. I'm now on CableOne. It works fine but it's $50 a month (though there's the tiny perk of them not filtering the cable, so I might be watching cable for free. maybe, sort of, i would never admit it. I actually called their local customer service to ask them if they knew I could access cable tv without subscribing to it, and she said "so?" so I said ok and hung up)
 

MongoTheGeek

macrumors 68040
iSaint said:
I did the same when I was on BellSouth. I'm now on CableOne. It works fine but it's $50 a month (though there's the tiny perk of them not filtering the cable, so I might be watching cable for free. maybe, sort of, i would never admit it. I actually called their local customer service to ask them if they knew I could access cable tv without subscribing to it, and she said "so?" so I said ok and hung up)

My aunt and uncle were in that position for a few years. They called a few times to try and get them to turn it off. Then they just said to hell with it and started watching.
 

~Shard~

macrumors P6
Jun 4, 2003
18,388
42
1123.6536.5321
I'd answer the question, but I feel like I'm biased since I work for the largest Service Provider in these parts, and helped Engineer that last couple infrastructure builds for our DSL access. ;) (Currently beginning our FTTH Project, exciting stuff!)

So, as an Engineer, I've never had any trouble setting up DSL for myself or my friends/family, but my company (SaskTel) has it down pretty good by now - we were the first Telco in North America to launch DSL services, and 2 years ago we launched the largest deployment of TV over DSL in North America. It's fun being on the Bleeding Edge of technology! :cool:
 

yellow

Moderator emeritus
Oct 21, 2003
15,925
1
Portland, OR
atszyman said:
Ok, you guys are the first two that I have ever heard of. Who are your service providers?
Intrex.net, a tiny crap mom&pop ISP leasing lines from Verizon. Happens to be who my employer struck a deal with to provide "cheaper" broadband for employees (cheaper.. whatever).

It might help that I'm a computer geek by day & pay.
 

yg17

macrumors G5
Aug 1, 2004
14,888
2,480
St. Louis, MO
I setup DSL for my Grandpa, and my first call to tech support was because they sent him the wrong equipment (modem and nothing else). Once we got the installation kit, I was able to do everything on my own.
 

atakordie

macrumors member
Mar 31, 2005
66
0
Columbia, SC
Yeah, BellSouth is good in my opinion. I set it up without hassle at my parents' house, but I did have to call them when I set it up at my apt. I am on the edge of their cutoff, and had to get them to put a noise profile on the line, but it works now and it rarely interrupts service :)
 

krimson

macrumors 65816
atszyman said:
...
So the question: Is there anyone out there who has recieved a welcome packet for DSL/Cable Modem and actually managed to get everything set up without calling tech support? If so who is your service provider?
Yes, 2 weeks AFTER they realized the circuit (or whatever it's called) wasn't connected at the phone company, and THAT was the real reason the DSL modem wasn't getting a signal. Not that I was using a Mac, or that the second set of line filters and modem they sent was also faulty. (Earthlink provided by Covad)
 

atszyman

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Sep 16, 2003
2,442
1
The Dallas 'burbs
yellow said:
It might help that I'm a computer geek by day & pay.
That can only help so far. I am an engineer by trade, and a pretty good computer geek. So are most of my co-workers. But there always seems to be something going on with SBC's infrastructure or setup procedure that keeps us from setting up DSL without tech support calls.

My current problem has to do with where they make the switch from fiber to copper in my neighborhood and really isn't my fault at all but it appears that for most of the people I've talked to with SBC, a tech support call is a necessary evil in the installation process.
 

wdlove

macrumors P6
Oct 20, 2002
16,570
0
I also use Earthlink provided by Covad. My big headache was finding out if DSL was available at my house. Think that the problem occurred on Verizon's end. I'm not technically savvy so needed an IT person to walk me through the setup. It was with TSP, IP and all the configuration settings.
 

mkrishnan

Moderator emeritus
Jan 9, 2004
29,641
12
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
In Detroit, I had SBC Yahoo for three years, and essentially never needed to use tech support. No setup or operation issues.

In Jacksonville, my parents had BellSouth DSL briefly and had terrible uptime issues that they were not able to resolve after several home visits. They switched to cable service, which is a lot better, but still has occasional issues...something is screwy in their house, as I was staying with them when they first got DSL and can vouch that the issues are real.

In Gainesville, I didn't want a landline phone, so I have Cox cable service, which also has been pretty flawless.

But at least in regards to my Detroit experience, yes, it does happen with SBC DSL sometimes....
 

chibianh

macrumors 6502a
Nov 6, 2001
784
1
Colorado
atszyman said:
So the question: Is there anyone out there who has recieved a welcome packet for DSL/Cable Modem and actually managed to get everything set up without calling tech support? If so who is your service provider?

Edit: added service provider question.

Yes. Pretty simple to setup. No tech support call needed. I have Qwest.net.
 

PlaceofDis

macrumors Core
Jan 6, 2004
19,232
4
i hae SBC Yahoo DSL, i set up the filters in about five mins, hooked up the modem, and was ready to go. simple as that, no issues at all
 

Ugg

macrumors 68000
Apr 7, 2003
1,985
15
Penryn
I've had SBC in two different places, the setup was flawless. I was online in about 5 minuts.
 

Nermal

Moderator
Staff member
Dec 7, 2002
18,678
1,183
New Zealand
Here in NZ I just plugged in my modem, entered the username and password, and voilà. No problems whatsoever. I've switched phone companies since then, and it still works.

Conversely, the guy down the street needed to get a technician in, and has had some major problems over the last 6 months, resulting in 2 more tech visits :eek:
 

atszyman

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Sep 16, 2003
2,442
1
The Dallas 'burbs
Well I have to say I'm now somewhat impressed with SBC's tech support. After a few phone calls on Saturday they managed to get it working today without needing me to take off of work and let anyone into the house. They evidently only had to fix something outside since I got home plugged it in and voila, internet.

Seems much zippier than my Comcast cable modem despite a slower max speed. We shall see how the future holds up.
 

Frisco

macrumors 68020
Sep 24, 2002
2,475
69
Utopia
Verizon DSl:
When I tried installing the software on my Mac it would just hang, so I had to call Tech Support. They had me bypass the software.

On my PC the installation was hassle free.
 

Blackstealth

macrumors regular
Apr 27, 2003
166
0
Bradford, UK
atszyman said:
Is there anyone out there who has recieved a welcome packet for DSL/Cable Modem and actually managed to get everything set up without calling tech support? If so who is your service provider?
Yes, and shockingly my provider is British Telecom!
 

buryyourbrideau

macrumors 65816
Mar 1, 2005
1,212
0
Chicago
mkrishnan said:
In Detroit, I had SBC Yahoo for three years, and essentially never needed to use tech support. No setup or operation issues.

In Jacksonville, my parents had BellSouth DSL briefly and had terrible uptime issues that they were not able to resolve after several home visits. They switched to cable service, which is a lot better, but still has occasional issues...something is screwy in their house, as I was staying with them when they first got DSL and can vouch that the issues are real.

In Gainesville, I didn't want a landline phone, so I have Cox cable service, which also has been pretty flawless.

But at least in regards to my Detroit experience, yes, it does happen with SBC DSL sometimes....
yea i live in livonia, right outside the D and my SBC service is TERRIBLE, the connection is always slow, usually when dl it is about 5 kb/s which is ridiculous, then somedays its at about 40 kb/s. still too slow. anywhoe yea the setup took forever too. my dad was pizzzed :mad:
 

mcadam

macrumors 6502a
Apr 3, 2004
593
0
københavn
atszyman said:
So the question: Is there anyone out there who has recieved a welcome packet for DSL/Cable Modem and actually managed to get everything set up without calling tech support? If so who is your service provider?

Edit: added service provider question.
Yep, I have and it was dead easy - provider was Cybercity. Unfortunately (for you, not me ) it's a just a little Danish company...

A