Poll: How do _you_ rate Obama's performance in office?

Discussion in 'Politics, Religion, Social Issues' started by jpietrzak8, May 25, 2017.

?

What do _you_ think of Obama's performance in office?

1. Excellent

6 vote(s)
    8.7%
  2. Above Average

31 vote(s)
    44.9%
  3. Average

13 vote(s)
    18.8%
  4. Below Average

8 vote(s)
    11.6%
  5. Terrible

11 vote(s)
    15.9%
  1. jpietrzak8 macrumors 65816

jpietrzak8

Well, after looking at another poll that was just an attempt by one MacRumors member to trash the memory of Obama, I got to wondering; just how do folks here actually rate Obama's term in office? And, since I've never tried to create a poll before, well, why not? (Apologies if I mess up anything. ;) )

So I'm just going to ask for your overall view of how he did. Choose whatever yardsticks you personally feel comfortable with, and compare him against other past American presidents.

2. blackfox macrumors 65816

blackfox

I voted Average. Domestically, I'd give him a B+. I should note - that's important. Internationally, I give him a C+. He did do a bunch of good things, perhaps partially by his charisma...but the continuation of wars and drone strikes - demerit points. I will say, I at least always felt he was intelligent and knew what he was doing...

3. mrkramer macrumors 603

mrkramer

I'd say average, his inexperience cost him a lot at the beginning when he had strong Democratic majorities in Congress. He did good things domestically, and restored our standing with the rest of the world, but he did continue a lot of pointless wars. Once we got Bin Laden we should have called it good and pulled out of Afghanistan, and we had no business interfering in the Arab spring.

I think if he had stayed in the Senate a bit longer to get more experience he would have made a much better president in 2012 or 2016 depending on who won the 2008 election.

4. ucfgrad93 macrumors P6

ucfgrad93

5. Zombie Acorn macrumors 65816

Zombie Acorn