Port forward a range of IPs in AirPort Utility?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by MythicFrost, Feb 11, 2016.

  1. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    I have a dynamic IP and want to know if it's possible to forward a range of IPs in AirPort Utility. I know this can be done for a range of ports.

    Say every private ip address on my network is 100.0.0 + "0-99", mine being for example, 100.0.0.25

    Is it possible to do something like 100.0.0* or 100.0.0.0-100.0.0.99?

    Appreciate any input,
    Cheers


    screen.PNG
     
  2. UKgaryb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #2
    Unfortunately that's not possible to do.
     
  3. MythicFrost thread starter macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    Bummer... thanks for letting me know!
     
  4. HenryAZ macrumors 6502

    HenryAZ

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Location:
    South Congress AZ
    #4
    I don't have an AEBS running now to check, but an older quirky method on some unix programs was this:

    100.0.0.

    You might see if it will accept that. It doesn't have the flexibility other methods do, but that's just the way it was done (sendmail comes to mind).
     
  5. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #5
    What is it you're actually trying to do? You can't forward a range of IP addresses to one public facing IP address; there's no way to determine which traffic is intended to go to which computer on your internal network. You would need to set up a VPN in order to access the same services on multiple computers via one external IP address.
     
  6. MythicFrost thread starter macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    It's OK. I don't want to fiddle with it too much. I'm forwarding a bunch of ports to play a game I like, but I'm on a dynamic IP (and not going to change that) so my IP could change, so I'd like to open the ports on ALL of the possible IPs that my router could give me (which is basically 0-99).

    I'll just change it when I need to though. Thanks guys.
     
  7. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #7
    In that case, just use the router to reserve a DHCP address for your computer so that it always gets assigned the same address. You only have to make the change on the router once. Follow step #5 in these directions for the Airport Utility: https://support.apple.com/kb/PH5140

    Once you've done that you can forward the ports you need for that one IP address.
     
  8. MythicFrost thread starter macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    Ah great to know. Thanks for that!
     

Share This Page