Possible to install two different versions of OS on MBP?

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by jeffreyfranz, Mar 30, 2018.

1. jeffreyfranz macrumors member

jeffreyfranz

I have legacy software that is important to me, and the developer has informed me that they will not be updating/modifying it to work with OS 10.14 (brand new version from Apple). I tried searching, but I get volumes of posts re technical issues that are not germane to my question.

Now, I am due to buy a new MBP, and I am wondering if I can install both OS 10.13 (works with my software) and 10.4 (support for eGPU). Please forgive me if this is a dumb question. I am not a techie, barely computer literate, and, yes, old. If this is an issue of partitioning or something like that, I will be happy to learn how and do that. Just need some suggestions. Thank you in advance. - Jeffrey

2. Darmok N Jalad macrumors 65816

Darmok N Jalad

I believe you just need to make at least 2 partitions on your drive, and you can install the new version of MacOS to another partition. You can use "Target Disk" mode to select which on you want to boot to. Another option would be to get yourself an external drive and install the alternate version of MacOS to it, as Macs can boot to external drives. That would probably be the better way to go, as if the new version of MacOS has serious problems, your drives are totally separate.

3. chrfr macrumors 604

Apple released 10.13.4, not 10.14. Are you sure your software doesn't work in 10.13.4?

4. dianeoforegon macrumors 6502a

dianeoforegon

Another option if you need to run legacy software is to Use Parallels to install macOS on a VM. I have Snow Leopard, Yosemite, El Capitan & Sierra installed in separate VMs. I don't store on my internal drive for space reasons. I like the ability to be able to run without booting into the old version. (Snow Leopard install required SL Server software, but all others were installed with the macOS installer.)