Possible to manage my WIFI configuration from outside of my home?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Subjective-C, Oct 21, 2014.

1. Subjective-C macrumors newbie

I have been using LINKSYS router for 10 years and I've been managing my home WIFI from anywhere on this planet, such as I changing WIFI password, changing WIFI name, setting up WIFI policy, etc.

Now, I have replaced my LINKSYS router with airport time capsule, but I am not sure how I can manage my airport time capsule WIFI from outside of my home. Does it even allow us to access it remotely? I am not talking about file sharing, I am strictly talking about managing home WIFI configuration remotely.

Please advise. Thank you.

2. Altemose macrumors G3

Altemose

You would check the box called "Setup Over WAN" in AirPort Utility.

3. Subjective-C, Oct 22, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2014

Subjective-C thread starter macrumors newbie

OK. I'll try that. Thanks. So, is it going to be web based like that of LinkSys?

UPDATE: Just read from here http://store.apple.com/us/question/...rt-setup-from-a-web-browser/QDAFKXTFUA7AFKTDD that it is impossible to access airport extreme through a web browser. I assume it is the same with airport time capsule, which is basically an extreme + plus a hard drive.

Also, everything I dug out through google about remote access of airport time capsule is about file sharing, which is not what I am interested in.

Sounds like I have to return the airport time capsule and stay with my LinkSys.

4. eduardrw macrumors 6502

Apples TC uses Airport Utility to manage your router settings. Once you enable "Setup Over WAN", You can use the same utility to manage your apple router from outside - this works from OS X and iOS devices as well as from Windows (need to download Airport Utility).

Once you open Airport Utility while outside your network, look for the "Other WIFI Devices" button to select your apple router.

5. Altemose macrumors G3

Altemose