Post photos of panoramas taken on iPhone 4S!

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by ethan028, Sep 16, 2012.

  1. ethan028 macrumors 6502a

    ethan028

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
  2. Bonestle macrumors member

    Bonestle

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Location:
    Darwin
    #2
    I took this on my honeymoon in Port Douglas, QLD, Australia a few days ago. I honestly think this is the best panorama app/feature I've ever used.
     
  3. nonamelive macrumors member

    nonamelive

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #3
    This is so good.
     
  4. wikus macrumors 68000

    wikus

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Planet earth.
    #4
    Looks good, but lets see how well it does with telephone lines and such.
     
  5. FelixDerKater macrumors 68000

    FelixDerKater

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    #5
    Very nice!

    The stitching seems much smoother than most of the other panorama implementations available.
     
  6. watchthisspace macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    #6
    It does. I have Autostitch on my iPhone 4. Don't think they've done anything to make it better :(
     
  7. Laimbeersux macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    #7
    Spectacular pic, I'm psyched to get my iPhone 5 because it will arrive a week before a big concert (Stone Sour, Marilyn Manson, and Rob Zombie, among others), and a month or so before a Monday Night Football game. Taking panorama shots of concert and sports venues could produce some incredible shots that will be fun to share. Just a couple of quick questions about how the mechanics of taking the panoramic shots though:

    Do you select panorama mode, hit the shutter button, and slowly pan across the area you want to take the pic of?

    How does it do with scenery where objects in the picture are in motion? I assume that it tries to take one long exposure and could get a bit blurry if stuff is moving around a lot?
     
  8. Danindub macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    #8
    You are right, you may endup with blurry images. If the composition changes too much and can't be stiched, iPhone will stop taking picture.

    Also, before you spend money on iPhone 5, remember that Panorama will also be available on iPhone 4S.
     
  9. Bonestle macrumors member

    Bonestle

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Location:
    Darwin
    #9
    I haven't tried much with moving objects but I imagine the results wouldn't be great. I'm sure someone will figure out some interesting ways to achieve this though.

    It very simple to use: click Options > Panorama.
    When you then click the shutter button you are guided through the motion of panning around. The app will tell you if you are too fast. There is a blue line you can follow to keep straight - I kept the horizon steady on this line.
    Moving up and down will effect the image but I've found you don't have to be perfect.
     
  10. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #10
    I use auto stitch (stand alone app) and thought it blended fairly well but now I see the example and I'm very impressed. It is more fluid, very nice.
     
  11. MonkeySee.... macrumors 68040

    MonkeySee....

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    Took this a park in Reigate in the UK.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. bollyboy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Location:
    Manchester - UK
    #12
    Great photo, images taken with phones now are impressive :)
     
  13. MonkeySee.... macrumors 68040

    MonkeySee....

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    Yeah. I've never really been bothered about Panoramic photos as it seemed a bit of a hassle but the way the iPhone does it is really great.

    Look forward to taking more :)
     
  14. wharzhee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    texas
    #14
    ya i agree! and it's so fun! (and sooooo easy)
    i ended up taking more panoramic photos than photos while holidaying last weekend cause it was fun playing with it (while it lasts). lol
     
  15. spencers macrumors 68020

    spencers

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    #15
    Woo pig sooie. Took it this weekend.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. spencers macrumors 68020

    spencers

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    #16
    Here's another.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #17
    When taking it, do you tell the camera app when to stop, or does it stop automatically? If the latter, how does the speed at which you move affect the picture? There seem to be some different aspect ratios coming out in these shots.
     
  18. spencers macrumors 68020

    spencers

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    #18
    You tell it when to stop. It's sort-of like taking a video: record then stop.

    I think the aspect ratio depends on how wide of a panorama you go with. The first one I took was very wide. The second, not so much.
     
  19. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #19
    Yeah, the A/R would be determined by how far you go. Is there a max? Could you, for example, go a complete 360° and still have it complete the picture? Also, has anyone tried creating a panorama by, instead of turning on the spot, moving just horizontally (like if you tried holding the iphone steady from a moving car)? I'm wondering if it's setup for just the former, so might have issues with the latter.
     
  20. Laimbeersux macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    #21
    Two kids in this pic show me that this could work pretty well even if the subject is moving around in the pic. The kid on the tire swing on the far left and the kid on the regular swing on the far right are both moving at a fairly quick rate of speed just based on what they are doing in the pic, yet they don't appear blurry. This should be a fun camera mode to play with. As for the poster telling me that I don't need to buy the 5 to get this feature? Two problems, 1, I already did, and 2, I only have a 4, so wouldn't get this option anyway.
     

Share This Page