Post pics of your web development setups

Discussion in 'Picture Gallery' started by MacFanUK, Aug 5, 2009.

  1. MacFanUK macrumors 6502a

    MacFanUK

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I am about to pounce on a new setup for my web development office and wondered what other peoples web development setups looked like, so please post pics of them here :)
     
  2. dmmcintyre3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #2
    My "Test Server" is my PB G4 - I prefer to work directly on the server instead of FTP it to the server every time I change a small bit of a huge file.

    I have a dell laptop with windows for "Internet Exploder" testing
     
  3. ChicoWeb macrumors 65816

    ChicoWeb

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #3
    This is where we design/code

    and our goodies go to the servers, about 4 8core 3.16ghz Dell 2950's :)
     

    Attached Files:

  4. MacFanUK thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MacFanUK

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Is there some specific software you need to use a mac as a 'test server'? I use 'Server2Go' with Windows but will be going all out mac soon :)
     
  5. pointandclick macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    #5
    Apache is built in to OS X ;)

    I can't really call myself a developer, but I know some xhtml and css and would like to learn more. Enough to be dangerous I guess you could say.
    Unfortunately the CS program at my school is almost exclusively programming centric unless you want to take extra classes.

    Textmate really needs to be cross platform though.:(
     
  6. dmmcintyre3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #6
    Not really. They include apache but they have some PHP odities. (But if it works on the Mac it has worked on a linux server every time for me. But I do not run a site like MR so it is not that important if it gets 5 min of downtime)

    Just download MySQL and enable PHP or whatever you need and you should be fine. Straight HTML will never mess up on any server though. I'm pretty default on the apache install.

    I also can develop in the car if I have to with the PowerBook but a linux laptop with a GUI would do just as good for a mobile test server.
     
  7. geekindisguise macrumors 6502

    geekindisguise

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #7
    The Command Center! Muahaha

    This is where I do all of my developing. It contains a Gateway GT5622 and an eMac. The Gateway has Dual Monitors, which are an HP 2009m and a Gateway 19". The Gateway has 3GB RAM, a RAID 1 of 320GB, and an Intel Pentium Dual Core @ 1.8Ghz. The eMac is a low end 800Mhz model with 512MB RAM. I just ordered an Airport Card for it so the eMac might be moving to my brother's room. He needs a computer and I hate it when he just comes in my room when I am asleep to look at Craigslist or his E-Mail. It is getting really annoying.

    To control my main machine, I have the MX Revolution (LOVE IT!) and the Logitech Illuminated Keyboard. I just bought the keyboard yesterday, but I am already loving it. The Backlighting is great for when I am up all night developing something amazing. ;)

    [​IMG]
    The setup overall

    [​IMG]
    Experimental Angles. :D

    [​IMG]
    My eMac all by itself on the other side of the room. :apple:

    [​IMG]
    My Awesome Logitech Keyboard!

    [​IMG]
    And my lovely Mouse. Its revolutionary! lol


    By the way, the flower wallpaper on my Gateway computer is mine. I'll send it to you if you want. Or you can find it somewhere on my website.
     

Share This Page