Post your 3G reception

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jecapaga, Jul 13, 2008.

  1. jecapaga macrumors 601

    jecapaga

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #1
    Simple enough..take a screenshot of what your typical 3G reception is in your home or at work. If you have the luxury of a 3G coverage map from your provider indicate what it says you should expect and generally where you are located if you feel like it. I'm in Southern California and the AT&T website says I am completely surrounded with 3G coverage. This is my typical coverage unfortunately.

    Edit: by typical I mean after having this new iphone for a day. The first iphone using edge consistently was getting almost full bars.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Mac-Addict macrumors 65816

    Mac-Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Well I don't have my 3g iPhone yet but on my current (k810i) phone I am constantly on 3g network where ever I go, even way out walking in the woods I am usually connected to 3g. (Live just outside London)
     
  3. guru_ck macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #3
    At Home in San Jose, CA
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Blackforge macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #4
    I'm at home in Athens, AL

    Average is 4 bars. Lowest is usually 3 and I do get all 5 sometimes.

    In fact 3 days ago, the coverage map didn't even cover my town. So I was a little surprised when I drove home and never lost 3G signal. Checked the map Friday and the 3G map size in my area had doubled and now pretty much covers mostly everywhere I go. It looks like AT&T may have rolled out 3G in more places or expanded areas. So check that coverage map!
     

    Attached Files:

  5. dlamin517 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #5
    i did the speed test on iphonespeedtest.com
    this was my max sitting in my room.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. scotty588 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Location:
    Carlsbad, CA
    #6
    Same here. On my iPhone 1.0 I usually had full bars at home. Now with 3G I get 2-3 max and the ATT site shows my area is fully covered with 3G.
     
  7. jecapaga thread starter macrumors 601

    jecapaga

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #7
    Yeah I was more looking for reception bars vs. speed test.
     
  8. dlamin517 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #8
    well you get both with that pic. look in the top left hand side
     
  9. jecapaga thread starter macrumors 601

    jecapaga

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #9
    Good point and I should probably add that I'm getting almost your exact same speeds except showing almost no reception via the bars.
     
  10. dalvin200 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #10
    This screenshot has my iPhone 3G reception in my office at home and also speed (by iphonespeedtest.com)

    View attachment 124168
     
  11. iflipper macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #11
    I get 1 bar of 3g reception depending on which room I'm in in my home, otherwise it's 5 bars and GPRS only. This is North East Leeds in the U.K. I'm expecting full 3g when I go to the city centre as I always got 4-5 bars and Edge there.

    *edit* nvm found out in another thread "Hold the home and sleep buttons together" so I'm about to try
     
  12. jecapaga thread starter macrumors 601

    jecapaga

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #12
    Hold the home button on the bottom and click the top button on the phone. You'll see a flash. The photo is is in your photos app camera roll.
     
  13. BobboZR2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #13
    Ocean County, NJ :cool:

    This is here in my bedroom at my computer desk where on Sprint Roaming (which is technically Verizon's network) I was lucky to get 2-3 bars.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  14. tomjleeds macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #14
    That's odd, perhaps your house doesn't like phone signal (that particularly affects 3G, much moreso than GSM). I'm in NW Leeds (Headingley-ish) and get full 3G signal inside (attic) or 3/4 bars downstairs.
     
  15. marksman macrumors 603

    marksman

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #15
    I don't get 3G at my house for some reason.

    I did an expirement earlier, had Pandora streaming, got in the car, and I was amazed I had my wireless connection a good 300 yards away from my house or more. Then it kicked into Edge for a short distance, and then 3G.

    So I am surrounded by 3G but it is not getting to my house. Which is fine because apparently have my wireless antenna covering the enitre neighborhood.
     
  16. pranavss11 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose
    #16
    No bars ..!:apple: San Jose CA
     

    Attached Files:

  17. tttexxan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #17
    at home I usually have one bar but at work 2-3 at best...Im hoping it gets better
     
  18. drchipinski macrumors 6502

    drchipinski

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
  19. phatcat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #19
    5 full bars on edge on average in Naperville il. Now I get about half with 3G and more dropped calls.

    3G may be going back and I'll reactivate my old and trusty 4gb model
     
  20. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #20
    Full bars here. But there's an AT&T cell tower literally less than 100 feet away from my house, so I'd expect nothing less.
     

    Attached Files:

  21. razorianfly macrumors 65816

    razorianfly

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Cheshire, United Kingdom
    #21
    O2

    Widnes, Cheshire, UK

    (Indoors).

    R-Fly
     

    Attached Files:

  22. Lexoticstylez02 macrumors 6502a

    Lexoticstylez02

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #22
    Mine ranges from 3-5 bars so far. I've only been within a 20 mile radius so far so we'll see how it goes.
     
  23. albeli macrumors 6502

    albeli

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Location:
    Here
    #23
    I'm going from 1 bar to 5 bars, depending where in/around my house I am. Crazy.

    ETA: screen cap--best reception

    [​IMG]
     
  24. rablat macrumors 6502a

    rablat

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Location:
    Classified NSA intel
    #24
    Not much reception in my house Cary Nc
    Out and about is good tho.
     

    Attached Files:

  25. rick98761 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    #25
    I think the reason we are getting lower bars is because the 3g towers are fewer and far between. I get 1 to 2 bars a lot of the Time. Call quality is still great so it's not really a big deal. When I leave 3g area with 1 or so bars, I usually enter an edge area with full bars. Seems lime the phone is just hanging onto 3g for as long as it can, even though it could get an better edge signal. I don't think it will ever lead to a dropped call.
     

Share This Page