Post your Available Memory!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Tokiopop, Jan 30, 2009.

  1. Tokiopop macrumors 68000

    Tokiopop

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #1
    Just thought I'd make a thread that wasn't to do with the new firmware/jailbreaks. ;)

    Basicly, what Available Memory do you have on your iPhone? To check I use SBSettings.

    At the moment I'm on 35MB ATM, but I'm normally around 20MB. What are you on? And what do you think is a low amount?

    I'd like to hear :D
     
  2. j3yq macrumors 6502

    j3yq

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Location:
    Iowa
    #2
    Do you mean that you only have 35MB left? If so I think that is VERY low, I like to keep a just under a gig avaible.
     
  3. notintheleast macrumors 6502

    notintheleast

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    NC
    #3
    The difference between memory and storage:

    http://www.technick.net/public/code/cp_dpage.php?aiocp_dp=guide_umg_01_003
     
  4. iphoneCraze1080 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #4
    Average of around 20 mb is free on my 1st generation iphone most of the times. I use iStat to check my memory...and free memory
     
  5. mavis macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #5
    Weird. Mine is always less than 20 when I check, and is typically in the single digits. Only SBSettings installed (no Winterboard, etc) ...

    I wish there was a way to add 128/256MB memory to this thing - I'd pay lots of money for more RAM. (oh, and THIS is EXACTLY why we haven't seen push enabled yet - can you imagine how sluggish the iPhone would be with even more crap running in the background??? Apple DESPERATELY needs to add more RAM to the iPhone, and they damn well know it)
     
  6. Tokiopop thread starter macrumors 68000

    Tokiopop

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #6
    I was wonder if the RAM is taken out of the storage, instead of on a different chip... If it was, then I'm guessing there'd be a way to increase RAM? Not sure, just a thought.
     
  7. Benjic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #7
    I don't think that is how Push Notifications will work though, basically, your iPhone will know what you were logged into and through push, look for info from those apps to relay to the Springboard. Push Notifications are only in effect over background processes because of the Ram issue. I'm hoping it does what it says it will, but hell, who knows nowadays.
     

Share This Page