Post Your Recording Studio

Discussion in 'Picture Gallery' started by rhythmac, Jun 23, 2009.

  1. rhythmac macrumors 6502

    rhythmac

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    my ever evolving studio...I record my drums as well as do voice over work. The desk is custom made, ( I didn't want any particle board) ... I still have to stain it.

    To Buy: 24" monitor (Samsung or HP)
    Symetrix 528E (for voice processing)
    Acoustic tiles (or other sound treatment)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. OrangeCuse44 macrumors 65816

    OrangeCuse44

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
  3. UMHurricanes34 macrumors 65816

    UMHurricanes34

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #3
    Very cool setup, and a great thread idea. Can't wait to see more posts in here. Does a picture of my music room count?
     
  4. rhythmac thread starter macrumors 6502

    rhythmac

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #4

    Right now I play drums full time and do a little voice acting (just starting out!)... I have played for some big names as well as some great musicians in local bars and clubs.
     
  5. OrangeCuse44 macrumors 65816

    OrangeCuse44

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #5
    That's awesome. I play drums as well, although it's hardly a full time thing. So you do mostly live gigs? What exactly do you use the studio for?
     
  6. pb1300 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Location:
    Aigio, Greece
    #6
    Anything more would really be unfair to the equipment!
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Applepi macrumors 6502a

    Applepi

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #7
    yes, post away.
     
  8. cschreppel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #8
    Here's my home rig:

    15" MacBook Pro
    Dynaudio BM5A monitors
    Presonus Central Station w/ remote
    Digidesign Digi002 w/ Pro Tools 8.0
    Focusrite OctoPre (8-channel preamp - ADAT into 002)
    API Lunchbox w/ (2) Great River and (2) API 512 preamps
    Presonus Faderport

    Fender Telecaster
    Gretsch/Pacific Drumkit
    Zildjian K and K Custom Cymbals

    Microphones (not pictured):
    Schoeps CMC6/MK4 (2)
    Blue Blueberry
    Audio Technica ATM450 (2)
    Shure KSM27 (2)
    Shure SM57 (4)
    Shure Beta52
     

    Attached Files:

  9. cschreppel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #9
    Here's some pictures of my drums from two different sessions. Almost identical setup though.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. reese.reimers macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    #10
    How do you like the 002 and the Lunchbox combination? I am starting school in the fall and get a 40% discount on all Digidesign hardware and I am wanting to upgrade to either a 003R or 003R+. Either way, love the setup.
     
  11. cschreppel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #11
    I actually really like that combo. Most people aren't a fan of the 002 preamps, but I don't think they're horrible. Clearly, I'll reach for the Great Rivers, API's, or Focusrites before them, but when I need 16 preamps, I don't mind using them.

    As far as the 003R or 003R+, it really depends on how you plan to expand later. If you need 8 mic preamps right off the bat, the 003R+ is the way to go, however, if you want to upgrade to more boutique preamps like the stuff in my Lunchbox, you'll need to bypass those preamps and go in line level. With the 003R (not the plus), it has 4 mic/lines and then 4 additional line level only inputs (like the 002). That way, you don't have an additional gain stage when you add external preamps coming in line level -- don't quote me though...you may bypass the gain stage altogether if you switch the mic/lines into the line input...

    Anyway, the 003R+ is pricier, so if you only need 4 pre's now, go for the standard 003R and save the cash to upgrade to fancier preamps down the road.

    Hope this helps!
     
  12. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #12
    Is that a MK I or MK II R-8?

    Best drum machines er, human rhythm composers ever!
     
  13. Benguitar Guest

    Benguitar

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
  14. WinterMute Moderator emeritus

    WinterMute

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #14
    This is one of mine, the second one is my newest room, and the third is my programming/editing 5.1 room....!:D

    I'm responsible for designing studios for Thames Valley Universities Music tech department, we have 26 rooms and 2 labs.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. cschreppel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #15
    Love those Audient boards. Simple, easy to use. The studio where I teach Audio Production has one. Maybe I'll post some pics of that room too...
     
  16. WinterMute Moderator emeritus

    WinterMute

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #16
    yup, we have 5 of them, you can teach everything you need on them and it transfers to the Otari and the digital boards.

    We are planning a Euphonix Fusion board for the Audio Post dubbing room, probably next year though.
     
  17. cschreppel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #17
    Excellent!
     
  18. ill0gical0ne macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
  19. reese.reimers macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    #19
    Thanks for the response. I was originally leaning towards the 003R+ but after doing some research I found other sources confirming what you have said, the inability to bypass the internal preamps. My only question as far as the 003R goes is whether or not you can send a line in into the DI. I am aware of the differences between Line, Mic and Instrument levels, however I didn't know if the DI on the 003R was a dual purpose Line/Instrument level input. I am just now getting into live recording and I would like to use this to patch into the console via the direct outs. I realize that on the 003R, channels 5-8 are dedicated line level, however, would I be able to run a line level signal through channels 1-4?

    Thanks again, I don't know the specs on the 002 so I didn't know if you would be able to answer my questions or not.
     
  20. rhythmac thread starter macrumors 6502

    rhythmac

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #20
    Its the R8, the original! (MKI)
     
  21. cschreppel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #21
    I believe inputs 1-4 can also be used as Line inputs. In fact, I used to run external preamps into my rig in this fashion. I would assume that the Line portion of the Mic/Line inputs on 5-8 on the 003R+ are the same as well. You *should* be able to use them as standard line inputs when the the microphone preamp gain stage is switched out of the path.
     
  22. OnTrack Studios macrumors regular

    OnTrack Studios

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
  23. jobrien macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    #23
    hey quick questions for all the audio guru's out there. I got a macbook pro and a behringer xenyx 502 mixer for my mic's and amp and all that jazz. Im moving to residence in september and wont have room for my amp and everything, so im looking for some cheap monitors. Im going to school for film and am a video editor, so having good sound is very important to me. I was looking at the M-audio AV20's along with the Behringer ms16. Now, ive only been looking at them because they are cheap ( and i dont know many other audio brands ahah). I just want to check out all my options.
    So basically, to get to the point. Small, cheap ($150-) and good quality monitors/speakers for a video editor? Any Suggestions.

    And if you want, i'll take this question to its own topic. I wouldnt want to take over your thread!
     
  24. cschreppel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #24
    I don't know the official pricing, but JBL has some really nice (and cheap!) monitors out now. They might be a little more than you're willing to spend, but the quality will definitely be noticeable.
     
  25. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #25
    That's what I have too. I'm on my second one as I foolishly sold the first...
     

Share This Page