Post your temperature here

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by macpro00, Feb 25, 2016.

  1. macpro00 macrumors member

    macpro00

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    #1
    cMP 5,1 (hack) X5675 3.06 / 6 core
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Raunien macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
  3. Macdctr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    #3
    This is my MacPro 5,1 x5675 12-Core machine
     

    Attached Files:

  4. sigmadog macrumors 6502a

    sigmadog

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Location:
    near Spokane, WA
    #4
    It's about 34°(F) right now, but the sun's coming out tomorrow, so it should climb into the upper 40's and maybe even into the low 50's.

    Bit of an odd thread for Mac Pro's, but whatever…
     
  5. \-V-/ Suspended

    \-V-/

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
  6. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
  7. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    Yeah, my temperature is almost always 37.5C :D
    --- Post Merged, Feb 25, 2016 ---
    There is no split between the 2 PSU temperature. It happen to me last time when there are full of dust inside the PSU.
     
  8. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #8
    What? I'm lost...
     
  9. ApfelKuchen macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Location:
    Between the coasts
    #9
    Uh... What good is a temperature read-out without knowing the operating conditions? Are you running benchmarks? Is the machine idling? Transcoding 4K video?

    To adapt a phrase, it ain't the heat, it's the function. These are tools, designed to do work. If you work them hard, they get warm, the fans kick in... and if they get too hot, the OS shuts the machine down before it melts. There is no anti-freeze to evaporate, the engine block will not crack. If the longevity of your equipment is more important than the work you do upon it... send it to a museum, now.
     
  10. BillyBobBongo macrumors 68020

    BillyBobBongo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    On The Interweb Thingy!
    #10
    Here are mine at idle:

    Mac Pro (Mid 2010) 2 x 3,33 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon
     

    Attached Files:

  11. h9826790, Feb 26, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2016

    h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #11
    Sorry for my poor English.

    I mean both your "PS, AC/DC Supply 1" and "PS, AC/DC Supply 2" temperatures are 108. When my PSU is clean, there are always few degrees difference.

    Screen Shot 2016-02-26 at 21.57.45.jpg

    The last time I have both readings are the same, is when there are lots of dust in the PSU, which cause them to run warmer. Another temperature monitoring programme suggest that one of the reading is the PSU component, and the other one is the PSU ambient.

    When the airflow is good, the PSU ambient (PSU 1) temperature should be few degrees cooler than the PSU component (PSU 2) temperature. However, when the airflow is blocked (e.g. by dust), then the heat will be trapped, which cause the PSU 1 temperature very close to the PSU 2 temperature.
     
  12. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #12
    Ah. Thanks for the clarification. I have an air filter and two optical drives in front of my Mac Pro. That may be limiting the air flow a little.
     
  13. macpro00 thread starter macrumors member

    macpro00

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    #13

    Attached Files:

  14. justmetoo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    ...wishing I was in the La Cloche...
    #14
    Since I installed a GTX 560Ti with aftermarket Artic Cooling solution (heat sink in the case of course, fans do not vent outside, at least not directly...) into my MP 1,1 I simply added a 9 cm fan on the outside of the empty PCIe slots at the back of the case, and ran power from a splitter off the DVD power line.

    The fact that there is no additional cooling fan on the back of these old MP's is a real engineering oversight IMHO...
     
  15. BillyBobBongo, Feb 26, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2016

    BillyBobBongo macrumors 68020

    BillyBobBongo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    On The Interweb Thingy!
    #15
    The Mac Pro was designed without this sort of thing, I wouldn't add them. But chances are they would improve airflow to a certain degree. However, I'm not even sure that they would fit.

    Our wonderful IT staff in my office had their hands on my Mac Pro (2009 model) at one point, these days I don't allow them near it, and it came back to me with a PC PCI cover instead of a Mac one. The reason I noticed is that it didn't quite fit, the PC cover appeared slightly larger than the native Mac ones. The IT staff had used brute force to get the retaining clamp in, and of course had no idea where the original Mac one had gone to.

    I removed the offending PCI cover and showed in an GT 120 to fill up the gap instead. I have one or two floating around as spares.

    Gotta love IT.
     
  16. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  17. macpro00 thread starter macrumors member

    macpro00

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    #17
    I am not sure if I want to add additional hardware that require power from PSU. Definitely think having objects removed around the tower will help with air flow. In the meantime, I removed a slot cover thinking that this will help improve air flow (I am sure dust, as well, but I am pretty OCD about cleaning/maintaining my stuff). Looks a bit weird of just having a random opening in the back... but it does give me some peace of mind.
     
  18. scott.n, Feb 26, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2016

    scott.n macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    #18
    Dual X5677, idle/Macrumors surfing.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. macpro00 thread starter macrumors member

    macpro00

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    #19
    UPDATE: X5675 w/ EVGA GTX 760 (newly installed) -- idle / Macrumors surfing

    CPU temp (avg) remained the same; fan speed (RPM) increased
     

    Attached Files:

  20. DPUser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #20
    What are you guys using to monitor temps under El Cap? I building a second hex 4,1>5,1 and plan on trying El Cap out. I'm using the now-discontinued Temperature Monitor on my studio machine running Mountain Lion.

    Looks like Hardware Monitor now includes all Temperature Monitor functions and has been updated to El Cap. Anyone using it?

    Thanks!
     
  21. BillyBobBongo macrumors 68020

    BillyBobBongo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    On The Interweb Thingy!
    #21
    iStat Menus from Bjango.
     
  22. crescentmoon52 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    #23
    Mac Pro 2010.jpg Mac Pro mid 2010 12-core- 2 x 2.93 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon x5670 chips
     
  23. scott.n macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    #24
    Those are exceptionally low temperatures. What model Mac Pro and what processors are they from? Did it just wake up from sleep? Any tricks you used to achieve them?
     
  24. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #25
    That looks like captured after a cold start.
     

Share This Page