Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

i_wolf

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 17, 2002
Hi all, I am a newbie here and i just wanted to get your opinions. As someone who is holding out to 'switch' so i can get a more powerful machine from apple to work with MAYA i was wondering.
I was looking through all the rumor sites and info sites about future chips from Moto and IBM.
I was wondering... at the SAME speed... (compare IPC versus IPC)how would the IBM Power 4 compare with say the theoretical performance of moto's G5???
Personally despite the cost and huge heat output of IBMs POWER 4 i reckon that we could see one in an apple powermac much sooner than later..... especially since most of the X86 community are aware that x86 is about to transition to 64bit.... these same people (that apple is targeting with switch adverts) will be asking does apple have a 64bit processor. They need a 64bit part.
Is there anybody out there at all that would prefer a G5 to a POWER 4 in a future mac?
Finally IMHO, apple need to do a hell of a lot more than add small MHz and DDR to the G4 line. For every 1MHz apple adds to the G4. Intel seams to add another 4 MHz to the P4. Now people including myself slag intel for a low IPC, but at the end of the day the fact that the P4 runs so fast allows it to overcome its crap IPC. It will do the same job faster than its competitors even if the P4's competitors are running on a more efficient design.
I would like your opinions please..... Educate me... if I'm wrong tell me!
Sincere Regards,
I_Wolf.

alex_ant

macrumors 68020
Feb 5, 2002
All up in your bidness
Re: POWER 4, motorola G5

Originally posted by i_wolf

I was wondering... at the SAME speed... (compare IPC versus IPC)how would the IBM Power 4 compare with say the theoretical performance of moto's G5???