Pre-order or wait till the 19th to buy

bcooln

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 1, 2012
Florida
Hi, this is my first time pre-order iphone. I just want to know from your experience, what is the best way to get the iphone on the first day. should i do the pre-order or wait till the 19th, go to apple store early to buy it? thanks

slippery-pete

macrumors 68000
Jun 23, 2007
Hi, this is my first time pre-order iphone. I just want to know from your experience, what is the best way to get the iphone on the first day. should i do the pre-order or wait till the 19th, go to apple store early to buy it? thanks
Depends. Do you mind waiting in line for several hours? If not, go to Apple store on the 19th to purchase.

DirtySocks85

macrumors 65816
Mar 12, 2009
Wichita, KS
I've pre-ordered in the past and it hasn't been an issue. As long as you're willing to pre-order as soon as it opens (say, in the first few hours), you'll most likely have an iPhone hand delivered to you by your local UPS/FedEx driver on launch day.

Personally, I'd much rather wake up in the middle of the night to order it online and then go back to bed than to wait in line at a store for several hours simply HOPING that they had the size/model/color I wanted in stock when I got the front of the line.

stretch80

macrumors regular
Oct 30, 2012
Michigan
Preorder for sure! Just order it as soon as goes live 12am/PDT.

dacreativeguy

macrumors 68020
Jan 27, 2007
Going to the store is your best bet. Definitely wait and do that on the 19th. That way, on the 12th, I can order faster and get to bed faster. Then on the 19th I can wait at home in my jammies for FedEx.

PTVMan

macrumors 6502a
Sep 20, 2012
I'm thinking about going in store on the 19th after the lines die down, assuming that there won't be a huge demand for the iPhone 6 Plus with T-Mobile contract free. Or, does this sound like a false premise?

jlake02

macrumors 68020
Nov 2, 2008
L.A.