Preparing for SSD?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jafingi, Apr 17, 2011.

1. jafingi, Apr 17, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2011

jafingi macrumors 65816

jafingi

Hi guys,

I'm totally up for putting an SSD in my Macbook Pro 15" (mid 2009 - 2,66GHz, 4GB DDR3).

As I have a pretty hefty music collection (around 150GB), I would be up for a pretty big SSD. I don't have the money for that (as they're on the wrong side of $500), but I stumbled upon the MCE OptiBay, which let's you replace the optical drive (which I never use) with an SSD slot.

Then I could have the OS and main applications on the SSD, and my iTunes library on the 320GB 7200RPM, right? :) That would still make a difference in speed I guess.

So, I found a 40GB SSD from Intel: Intel X25-V Value SATA Solid-State Drive 40 GB

It's cheap, and seems robust enough.

Would you suggest me going that way? I'm totally new in the SSD world, but I feel that my Macbook could be faster, and I guess that SSD would be the easiest way to speed things up.

2. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

bozz2006

Definitely. There are a ton of folks who have gone that exact same route. Many of them have discussed it on these boards. Browse through the first five pages of threads on here to read about it.

3. jafingi thread starter macrumors 65816

jafingi

Thanks, I'll have a read :)

4. phantomsd macrumors 6502

phantomsd

I'm looking to pick up a 2011 MBP 17" within the next month and have been researching SSD+HDD setups (SSD for OSX/Apps and HDD for data).

From what I've read... seems like OWC SSD drives are popular and recommended by many.

They also have their own bracket for optibay mounting solutions... the DataDoubler.

I'll most likely go with OWC.

5. jafingi thread starter macrumors 65816

jafingi

But how reliable are the OWC's after a few years? Have never heard about OWC before, but Intel is something that I know, and trust.

But yeah.. That $169 combo for adapter and 60GB SSD seems like a bargain to me! :cool: