Problems with Parallels trial and still stuck betwen paralles and vmfusion decision

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by EricaV, Oct 25, 2008.

  1. EricaV macrumors regular

    EricaV

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    #1
    Maybe someone can shed some light on these issues for me.

    I installed the trial version of parallels on my macbook and here's what's happening- first- my bootcamp partition no longer boots as xp when I boot straight into bootcamp- it defaults to parallels configuration unless I catch it. Then even if I catch it and choose to boot XP, I'm unable to run XP updates- getting the message that XP wasn't started as XP therefor we can't update.

    Second- the trial version won't run coherence mode- states I need to install parallels tools which apparently isn't part of the trial package, does this sound correct ??

    third- I've tried changing mouse preferences but currently I need to hit control to release my mouse everytime I leave the windows VM to move into the mac environment. Again- does this seem correct ? It's certainly a pain in the a!*

    fourth- I can't drag and drop any files from the mac to the windows VM,

    It's possible that the trial version gives limited functionality- but given that these are such basic functions of a VM program it sort of defies logic that these functions would be blocked on a trial ?? Perhaps the trial doesn't include parallels tools ?


    Any thoughts/experiences on the above would be appreciated. It seems I would have to pay parallels $29 bucks to help me navigate this "incident" and my friends at the genius bar don't seem to have any ideas.

    I'm sort of ready to scrap parallels, re partition and reinstall windows and go with VM fusion. I hate to start over but parallels is also not uninstalling properly and still shows up when I boot directly through boocamp

    Any recommendations for someone who wants full functionality through both bootcamp and VM- does one program do better than the other on this account ??
     
  2. flyinmac macrumors 68030

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #2
    I haven't used Parallels, so I cannot really assist you in that area.

    When I was facing that decision, I did a lot of reading on the Internet, and compared Fusion to Parallels based on people's posted experiences and then the professional reviews and comparisons of features.

    It seemed clear after doing research, that the decision must be Fusion.

    So, that's what I went with.

    I can tell you that prior to installing Fusion, I had Windows Vista Ultimate (32-BIT) already installed and in use with my Mac Pro 2.66. I also had been using Office 2007 Ultimate in Windows. And, the installation had been in place for many months (close to a year).

    So, my Windows installation was very well broken in and established.

    So, very nervously, I installed Fusion's trial version on my machine. And, everything went very, very smooth.

    I installed Fusion. Booted Fusion and Windows Vista from my Boot Camp partition. And, then immediately installed the virtual machine additions / tools that came with Fusion (from the menu bar in the Fusion program).

    Everything went smooth. And, I didn't have to reactivate Vista or Office after installing Fusion and the virtual machine tool / additions.

    And, when I booted up directly into Vista using Boot Camp, I couldn't tell that anything was different.

    But, when I boot into Vista using Fusion, Vista automatically switches to the virtual hardware in the virtual machine without any issue.

    The moving back and forth between Fusion and Bootcamp appears completely transparent and when I'm in Bootcamp, everything looks like it did originally.

    I don't remember seeing any features disabled in the trial version of Fusion. The Coherence mode worked fine as a trial.

    After a few days playing with the trial, I purchased the unlock key. And, instantly had the fully registered version. No reinstall or anything. Just enter the unlock key. To my understanding, nothing changed between the trial and the unlocked version except that my time limitation (expiration date) was removed.

    When they released the 2.0 update, I installed that and had no trouble either. The 2.0 update also includes McAfee Antivirus and Firewall software (for Windows). So, that was a nice bonus.

    I'm very happy with Fusion. I'm picky, and I can't find anything to complain about there.
     
  3. EricaV thread starter macrumors regular

    EricaV

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    #3
    Very Helpful response

    Thanks for info. Even though people are very satisified with parallels I'm hearing that fusion is much more stable. I'm encouraged because from what I've heard, Vista can be a little more dicey than XP.

    I'm picky too, so your comments are just what I needed to hear. I'll get the temp serial number to install fusion trial tomorrow when their web service is up again (hopeflly) wish me luck :)
     
  4. flyinmac macrumors 68030

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #4
    Hopefully it will all go well for you.

    When I was contemplating it, and was concerned about the dual activation stuff, I spoke with a guy here called "Neil321" here's his profile link:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/member.php?u=137351

    This is what he told me in the discussion at:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=504938&highlight='fusion+flyinmac+Neil321


    That is post # 13 in the discussion. Disregard all before that. The stuff prior was a different topic, and the parts that were on that same topic were a bit more complicated and not the method I went.

    I used Neils method, and worked fine for me.

    My copy of Windows was already in use (like I mentioned previously). And, after installing Fusion, booting Windows, installing the VMWare / Fusion Tools, and activating Windows within the VM, everything was fine.

    Rebooted into Bootcamp, and Vista was still activated there as well. I've bounced back and forth between Bootcamp and Fusion many times and never needed to reactivate.

    Anyway, I hope you have a smooth transition like I did. Best of luck to you.
     
  5. EricaV thread starter macrumors regular

    EricaV

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    #5
    Following up with the good news

    Fusion was installed without a hitch and the whole XP reactivation sequence went as described- better actually. Although I got a final re-activation prompt in bootcamp, I then quickly got a message that the OS was active without having to record 11 sets of numbers and call microsoft.

    although re-activation is a drag if the machine thinks you've installed more than 3 times- it seems part of the package here. Since I've had to to it several times here -

    The quickest way to do it I've found is start via internet, record all the numbers they give you. And then when you call the 800 number you can fairly painlessly use the automated system to give them the numbers, and get a new activation code. If you jsut keep repeating when prompted that you are installing on "one machine" there are no hang ups. I've also read that it's a good idea to avoid mentioning anything about VMs etc. to the MS people, they dont' seem to know what to do with it :)

    THanks again for the help- I'm a happy camper

    E
     
  6. FortWorthMac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    the parched earth of North Texas
    #6
    One other thing that may help you decide.

    If you have any children in school, or you are an educator or student yourself then you are eligible to purchase Fusion at half price. I was about to pay full price then I saw the Education discount link from the website.

    Good luck.
     
  7. flyinmac macrumors 68030

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #7
    Good to hear that it went smoothly for you.

    Fusion has been great for me, and it sounds like you're finding it to be a smooth transition as well.

    I'm surprised that it prompted you to activate again in bootcamp. But, if it doesn't prompt you to activate every time you switch between bootcamp and VM, then I think you'll be fine.

    Glad to hear it went smoothly. Let me know if you have any questions that I might be able to answer.
     
  8. EricaV thread starter macrumors regular

    EricaV

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    #8
    Yes- I'm an academic !

    I foolishly forget to look for these opportunities- thanks, I very much will follow up !

    E

     
  9. EricaV thread starter macrumors regular

    EricaV

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    #9
    New Problem syncing outlook in vmfusion

    I remember you saying you sync outlook in fusion. I've just come across this error message several times, even after rebooting the mac hd and the bootcamp VM.

    "problem on desktop, error support code 86000107". I havent' followed up on this yet so if the situation is not familiar to you please don't spend any time on it.

    I'm going to try to synch after booting straight into bootcamp and see if I have better luck.

    Otherwise- fusion is fantastic !

    Any thoughts welcome



     
  10. flyinmac macrumors 68030

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #10

    Hmmm.... Did I say that??? Either my memory is failing, or perhaps I was referring to a different situation.

    Maybe you could remind me of the discussion, or perhaps explain what exactly you are trying to accomplish.

    If you are referring to discussions where I've moved e-mails from Apple Mail or Outlook, or other e-mail clients to a different machine or e-mail program, then yes I've done that with the help of Apple's .Mac.

    That could theoretically, and very likely sync you're e-mail messages between both clients if you use .Mac (oh, wait, that's right, it's MobileMe now).

    If you're referring to syncing a PDA or Cell Phone / Smart Phone with Outlook in Fusion, then no I haven't done that (at least not that I can recall). But, I have synced contacts and programs with a PDA once in Fusion using Microsoft's ActiveSync / Vista's equivalent.

    I guess describe to me what you're trying to do, and I'll see if I've done something similar. Or, perhaps if it's something I can't recall doing, showing me the discussion might refresh my memory as to what I was doing then.
     
  11. EricaV thread starter macrumors regular

    EricaV

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    #11
    the outlook thing may have been someone else

    Howdy- sorry , I was probably thinking of someone else !

    Anyway- as it turns out I don't think it's a fusion issue at all- just a quirky active sync problem. I'm not sure whether Windows Mobile, my new smartphone (ATT tilt AKA HTC 8900), , or active sync is going backward instead of forward but something is :)

    Thanks for your help.

     

Share This Page