PSA: Verizon postpaid just introduced a new 5gb plan for the same price as their old $55/mo 2gb plan

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Hal~9000, Jan 29, 2017.

1. Hal~9000 macrumors 68000

Hal~9000

Previously I was on Verizon's cheapest postpaid single line plan of $55/mo for 2GB, but just saw this deal on Slickdeals that for the same monthly price I can now get 5gb of data so I thought I'd share for the other Verizon peeps on the forum:

https://www.verizonwireless.com/plans/5gb-for-55/
    • For single line accounts (or at least accounts with only 1 smartphone on it)
    • $40 for 5gb + $20 smartphone line fee - $5 autopay discount = $55/mo
    • Eligible for employer % discounts off the $40 data portion
    • Plan requires paperless billing to be enabled
    • Have to call CS or make the switch in store
    Cheers! :)

2. Foggydog macrumors 6502

Foggydog

It sounds good for many, unfortunately, as a trucker I need at least 12gigs a month, and can easily use 18. I'm going to the poorhouse with them. Grrrrr

3. zoomos macrumors newbie

zoomos

I have T-mobile one plus, unlimited data with phone and tethering and it's working out great.

4. Charadis macrumors 6502a

ATT grandfathered unlimited here, I would tear through that 5GB like nobody's business.

5. cbreze macrumors 6502

cbreze

A great deal for those on the 2GB plan. Also comes with rollover which I did not have available to me on my former 3GB medium plan. Picked this up a week or so ago right after it was announced. 5GB, rollover and I'm saving $10/month. Win/Win for me. I don't use that much with wifi at home and I'm not on my phone that much when away from home. I already rolled over 4.8GB and have 9.5 total. It's working for me.

6. geoff5093 macrumors 68020

geoff5093

$95/mo is still pretty expensive. That's $30 more per month than I pay for my Verizon unlimited data plan, and a few years ago that even allowed you to get a cheap phone on contract. Man, prices really have gotten high.