Purchase Program - is this legit?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by illumin8, May 7, 2003.

  1. illumin8 macrumors 6502

    Apr 20, 2003
    East Coast, US
    Has anyone on this board tried buying a Mac from this site before? Are they legit? This looks almost too good to be true:

  2. XnavxeMiyyep macrumors 65816


    Mar 27, 2003
    I read about it in MacHome, so it probably is legit. Too bad I read it a month or so after I bought my Powermac.:(
  3. alxths macrumors 6502

    Apr 3, 2003
    Woah, if this is legit.. this is probably where this guy gets his computers from:

    Allow me to emphasize the IF though, because we all know very well that if something seems too good to be true, than it likely is...

    Although, if by the time I'm ready to buy a laptop, this site is still up, than it probably is legit so whuptydoo
  4. etoiles macrumors 6502a


    Jun 12, 2002
    Where the air is crisp
    I think it is legit BUT: the price they 'advertise' is just the price they 'think' they will get once all 100 orders are filled. So you don't know what price you are going to pay and you don't know how long it is going to take them to find 100 buyers...sounds a bit iffy to me. Plus, you lose your $250 'reservation fee' if you decide to cancel your order.

    But I would really like to hear from someone who tried this and for whom it worked out ;)
  5. springscansing macrumors 6502a


    Oct 13, 2002
    New York
  6. alxths macrumors 6502

    Apr 3, 2003
    Actually.. this is probably how it works:
    You pay youre $250 expecting to get the amazing prices they have posted on their website. They end up offering you a price that is close to or equal to the typical retail price so you end up paying either full retail price for a computer or losing your $250...

    Also, they never clearly state that the reservation fee gets applied to the price of you computer
  7. uhlawboi80 macrumors 6502

    Sep 8, 2002

    ok...im studying for an advanced property law final, so i dont have time to check, but there WAS a thread on this b4....

    i remember reading the entire site for that thread. What it turns out is that you agree to pay the beset price they can manage to get on the computers. It could even be ABOVE retail. they dont know till they order them. At that point you either lose you 250 or you pay the rest.

    ALSO not that they do not gaurantee WHEN they will order...except "when they recieve enough orders" they could actually order it for you after a new model is released!! they may even wait till then to order at all cause prices would drop like crazy on say an older TiBook when a new alu one comes out. i wouldnt do this at all.

    just my 2 cents...look for the other thread though, we raked this over the coals for a while then!!
  8. evildead macrumors 65816


    Jun 18, 2001
    WestCost, USA
    dont do it

    We have talked about it here before... and there has been some bad press about them. If you read the fine pint you will find the rub. do a search for it here too. We talked about it in great length

    Also.. there was an Add for it in MacAddict... sortly after it was pulled. MacAddict has a policy against printing adds that they do not beleave in.
  9. Eniregnat macrumors 68000


    Jan 22, 2003
    In your head.
    Strange, all of the threads about ApplePurchaceProgram.com being at best a poor choice and at worst a SCAM have links that point to PurchaceProgram.com

    Look here
    and Here. These are just two of many threads about the same company/program.

    Seems to me, that despite the legal banter and disclaimers, it is still misleading.

    caveat emptor= buyer beware

Share This Page