[Pwnage Tool][Wi-Fi] The pwnage tool gave the final punch to my wifi connection

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by igmolinav, Jul 29, 2008.

  1. igmolinav macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #1
    Hi,

    Just to give you a chronicle of recent events until I lost the ability to connect to internet and to download applications through installer.

    a. Over a month ago, my uncle who came to visit, gave me me his older iPhone. He changes to the new 3G. The iPhone he gave me was unlocked and activated, but unstable. It would suddenly turn itself off frequently. Wi-Fi worked just fine.

    b. I restored the iPhone several times and used a number of Programs to see if I could ameliorate the frequent instability. (It was almost impossible to bear with the iPhone turning itself off so often, specially when I wanted to use the WeDict application). I used iLiberty+, Pwnage Tool 1.1, and even used a patch from Ziphone to erase the baseband because I even tried updating to 2.0. After using all these programs, the phone became mor stable, but it also lost some of its features.

    c. After using the Pwnage tool, I coudn't dial a phone call, nor use the wi-fi because the iPhone "wasn't able to locate/join the network" or it simply had "No Wi-Fi".

    d. Due to the tremendous help given in this forum, I have lastly used iLiberty+ and I can make phone calls now. However, even though I have restored the baseband to 04.04.05_G, I am still "unable to join my network" or I have "No Wi-Fi"

    I have searched your site for answers and unfortunately I haven't got the right one. It also seems to me that many people are also (often) concerned with this issue. I wonder if there could be a thread that condenses all of the already possible solutions given by you guys. I think it would be very helpful. I hope myself, I can solve this problem sometime soon, the iPhone can be a great tool if internet and the installer can be used to download applications. The cell phone and ipod features are cool, but in my view are the other features that are at the moment the most relevant. Unfortunately, without Wi-Fi I can't do much.

    Thank you for your support again,

    igmolinav
     
  2. deriko100 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #2
    i eat pizza

    Dude unjailbreak it restore it to 2.0 and stay on it unless you want to unlock it wait for like ziphone to release something or download the pwnagetool 2.0 unlocks 2.0 for any carrier but only gives you cydia, hope this helps...
     
  3. igmolinav thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #3
    Hi,

    Thank you for your answer. I am in Mexico and in order to use the phone I need it jailbroken. I tried updating but it didn't go as smooth as expected. I just want to get back the Wi-Fi. Is it that impossible to have it back on 1.1.4 ??

    Kind regards,

    igmolinav
     
  4. gregk205 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    Actually you need it to be unlocked. That is what lets you use it on another carrier and in other countries. Jailbreaking only lets you add unsupported applications. I would just update it to the new 2.0 firmware and then unlock it with pwnage. Or restore it back to 1.4 and use pwnage or Iliberty to unlock it.
     
  5. prospereagle92 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #5
    restore to 1.1.4 and then use ziphone to unlock and jailbreak. I prefer Ziphone because its really simple to use, all you have to do is click one button and it does everything for you. NEVER had a problem and ive used to 20+ times
     
  6. kain macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #6
    Yeah I would use ziphone to restore to 1.1.4. You might get your wi-fi capability back and 1.1.4 is just better than 2.0 in general because Cydia is horrible. 2.0 seems to be a bit unstable for me, whereas 1.1.4 was rock solid. The only advantage I think 2.0 has is the ability to transfer contacts from your sim card.
     
  7. igmolinav thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #7
    Hi Guys,

    Thank you for your answers. I had already restored it to 1.1.3 and to 1.1.4. I had also already used iLiberty+. However, my Wi-Fi is still down.

    I am a bit hesitant to use Ziphone. Supposedly, if one uses Ziphone, your baseband is stuck at 3.9 forever.

    Thank you again,

    igmolinav
     
  8. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #8
    ZiPhone breaks wifi, and the only way to fix it is Pwnage.

    Just follow Pwnage's instructions and it should be pretty simple. Will definitely get everything back for you.
     
  9. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
  10. igmolinav thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #10
    Hi,

    Thank you for your answers. I'll work on the iPhone later on tonight and then I'll post some more.

    Kind regards,

    igmolinav.
     

Share This Page