Qn on AppleCare+ coverage for broken phones

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by lisasum, Mar 18, 2013.

1. lisasum macrumors newbie

Hi,

I am a first time user of this forum and welcome all feedback...

Here is my story. After being a serious Hold Out on getting on the iPhone bandwagon, I finally broke down and turned in my seriously broken old Treo Palm and bought myself an iPhone 4S for Christmas 2012 (just 3 short months ago).

No one was more surprised than I by how much I LOVED my new phone - so easy to use and I am not tech savvy. In fact, I'm soo Not savvy that I didn't have the 'find my iphone app' uploaded nor had I synced my device over the past few months of ownership.

Thus, you can imagine my Severe disappointment, anger, etc when my beautiful New iPhone was stolen a few days ago out of my purse.

I bought the AppleCare+ service for my phone. I've been looking on Craig's list to purchase a replacement iPhone and have found the following:

a. I'm shocked at how expensive the replacement cost is for my phone now that I have a new contract with Sprint

b. I see others on Craig's list are buying up broken iPhones.

Here is my question... is there anyway to buy someone else's broken iPhone 4s and turn it in as my own and get my phone replaced under my Apple Care+ warranty? I am not a dishonest person and hate to ask this but I am now stuck with a monthly Sprint bill with no device and cannot afford to shell out the hundreds of dollars for a new phone.

I have my receipt, box, etc... can they tell by looking at broken phone pieces if it truly is or is not my phone? I'd hate to shell out even more money to buy a broken phone then have Apple turn me down/ tell me my warranty will not apply.

Would love to use my insurance if at all possible and if there is no way to do this, will cancel the AppleCare+ and get a few bucks back that way but then I'll still have no phone.

Any advice anyone can offer would be greatly appreciated!!!