Question about student edition of Dreamweaver/Photoshop

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by kit116, Aug 25, 2010.

1. kit116 macrumors newbie

Hello, I have a question about the use of dreamweaver and photoshop student editions:

I am a student, and my parents purchased the student editions of dreamweaver and photoshop for me as a student. I then did some work for their business to practice what I learned in my class. Now, I have chosen not to do any more things for them since my schedule is so crazy. They are now saying that since they bought the software, they will keep it and train someone to use the software for their business. It was my understanding that since this is a student edition, they cannot let a non-student use it for a business. Is that true?

Thank you!!!

2. Ride9650 macrumors 6502

Student editions can be used in for-profit projects by non-students, you just have to be a student to purchase the software at the discounted rate.

Besides, its not like Adobe would have a way of finding out anyways

3. UTclassof89 macrumors 6502

UTclassof89

From Adobe's own FAQ:

Can I use my Adobe Student and Teacher Edition software for commercial use?
    Yes. You may purchase a Student and Teacher Edition for personal as well as commercial use.

also...

Can I resell or give away my Adobe Student and Teacher Edition software?
    No. Adobe Student and Teacher Edition software may not be resold or given to others for free.

Can a student or teacher continue to use Student and Teacher Edition software after graduation or upon completion of training?
    Yes. After graduation or upon completion of training, an individual may continue to use Student and Teacher Edition software.

4. Bonch macrumors 6502

Bonch

You are allowed to install it on a couple machines, so legally you could keep it on your machine and your parents could install it on another. The software "phones home" so it will tell you if you try to install it on too many machines.