Question on Cinema 4K Monitor & 2013 Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Redneck1089, Aug 21, 2016.

  1. Redneck1089 macrumors 65816

    Redneck1089

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    #1
    I'm thinking about purchasing a LG 31MU97-B monitor to use with my 2013 Mac Pro. My concern is that it will not run at 60hz. http://www.memoryexpress.com/Products/MX57058

    I've found Apple's info on 4K resolutions rather confusing, and at one point their instructions indicate that at true 4K it can only run at 24hz, and at another point it says it can run at 60hz. https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT206587

    Would someone be able to clarify for me?
     
  2. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #2
    Why not just get the Apple 4K monitor?

    Oops, Apple doesn't sell monitors any more....
     
  3. Einz macrumors regular

    Einz

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Miami
  4. p.l macrumors member

    p.l

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #4
    Its actually 50Hz at thats resolution on a Mac Pro
    UHD would be 60Hz
     
  5. p.l macrumors member

    p.l

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #5
    Found the sheet to confirm the above.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Redneck1089 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Redneck1089

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    #6

    Thanks for the information. Would I notice any discernible difference between 50hz and 60hz?
    --- Post Merged, Aug 22, 2016 ---
    So Apple's webpage says most monitors at cinema 4K will run at 60hz


    I guess this monitor is just incapable of doing 60hz on a Mac. This is a bit frustrating. I'm not a huge fan of just UHD.
     
  7. p.l macrumors member

    p.l

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #7
    In my opinion i don't think you will truly notice the 10Hz difference, Maybe side by side but i doubt it.
    If its true 4k you are after i think you can live with the 10Hz difference.

    Another option could be to have an eGPU with a GTX 960 or 950 and use that for the 60Hz capability but could get expensive for an extra 10Hz
     

Share This Page