Question re VISTA’s Aero on Blackbook’s Video

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by r-gordon-7, Dec 27, 2007.

1. r-gordon-7 macrumors newbie

I’m brand new to the Mac world - and have an MBP "Blackbook" on order. (When it arrives, it will be my 1st ever experience with a Mac.) It will have 4GB RAM & a 250GB hard drive. I intend to install VISTA Ultimate & run it w/Parallels. (This will be my first experience with VISTA, as well - as my old computer is a 3 1/2 year old HP laptop w/XP SP2 w/only 512 MB RAM & a 64 MB video card.)

Will VISTA’s Aero bells & whistles (fully enabled) run on my “Blackbook”, or is the "Blackbook's" shared video not up to the task of running Aero “full bore”?

Given the "Blackbook's" shared video/system RAM, will having 4GB system RAM in it help at all to run VISTA's Aero video bells & whistles, or does having more RAM to share not help?

(Note, I'm not a gamer, so at least I don't need or expect the "Blackbook's" video to perform on that level – but being able to run VISTA “full bore” would be nice...)

Maybe I should’ve gone with the MBP instead, but I like the “Blackbook’s” small form-factor – and I especially wanted the black finish.

Thanks,
    r-gordon-7

2. heatmiser macrumors 68020

Any Macbook will be able to run Aero in Vista, as the GMA950/x3100 cards are Aero-capable.

3. ~~Hello~~ macrumors 6502

4. triddent222 macrumors regular

*rolls eyes*

...>.....>....

Yes, the Blackbook (Black MacBook) can run Vista's Aero interface under BootCamp. Using Parallels/Vmware you will not be able to use the Aero interface. But that''s also true for the MacBook Pro (At least, I cannot).

5. iMan G5 macrumors member

Please tell me you didn't buy apple ram.......

6. tersono macrumors 68000

tersono