Questions from a potential Iphone buyer (can you sway me from "the storm"?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by blairh, Nov 22, 2008.

1. blairh macrumors 68030

blairh

Hey guys.

So I'm on the middle of a road, and at one end of the road is the Iphone, and at the other end, the Blackberry Storm.

I'm a Verizon subscriber, I love their service in my area (Newton, MA) and its coverage when I travel within the States. I have to update my dumbphone this week, and I'm debating the Storm or Iphone. My contract is up, I'm a free agent baby.

Here is my mindset with everything: I tried a Storm out at Verizon yesterday. I enjoyed the QWERTY keypad and do not feel concerns about not being able to type as fast as I can on a physical QWERTY keypad. The web browser on the Storm is a very important feature for me. It's clearly not as good as the Iphone's with the omission of multi-touch and less smooth scrolling of pages. Also the lack of wifi IS NOT a deal breaker for me, but I would have liked to have it as an option. Having said that, I still think the browser is "good enough" for satisfy my needs.

So here are my questions for Iphone users. Any answers are greatly appreciated. Here goes.

1. What is the learning curve for using the touch keypad on the Iphone? I find myself making a lot of mistakes in the short time I've used it. I find myself making a lot less errors using the Storm QWERTY in the first time I used it.

2. A lot of my friends who have Iphone's say that the Safari web browser often crashes during use. Has this happened to you?

3. How is your battery life? In my situation I would keep 3G and wifi off during the day, and turning it on only when I wanted to browse the web, etc.

4. How has your plastic casing held up? I would not want to add a case, and I fear the hard plastic would break easily if dropped. Also, if you own a white Iphone, has your plastic back gotten dirty or cracked over time? I question how durable that white case is over time.