iPhone Questions w/ 4S on 5.1.1 to factory unlock w/ AT&T to avoid 6.0-

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by OverSpun, Sep 27, 2012.

  1. OverSpun macrumors 6502a

    OverSpun

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #1
    Obviously, I am aware that you have to restore the phone after its unlocked from AT&T to activate the phone but I'm sure that 5.1.1 isn't being signed anymore by Apple. Any thoughts to avoid 6.0 in order jailbreak the phone?

    This phone has never been broken and no SHSH's. Obv, I get the rest w/ redsnow as long I can reserve 5.1.1 until this point.

    Thanks!
     
  2. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #2
    use SamPrefs from Cydia you will deactivate the sim from sam the reactivate it takes about 30 seconds. oh and absinthe will jailbreak it on 5.1.1
     
  3. OverSpun thread starter macrumors 6502a

    OverSpun

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Is absinthe better? I used redsnow on my 4 before, but the 4S is a bit late before 5.1.1 couldn't be signed.

    So, the steps-

    Jailbreak via absinthe-

    SamPrefs to dactivate the sim, and plug it into itunes and it would show the typical "congrats you've unlocked your phone" and move on?

    Correct me if I'm wrong. :)

    Thanks!
     
  4. kevintech macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    #5
    I'm wondering about this also. I have an iPhone 4S on 5.0.1 jailbroken with redsn0w and would love to factory unlock WITHOUT restoring. On youtube, I found a video that says to use the latest version of redsn0w and put the phone in DFU mode and deactivate?? Will this be enough to unlock it?

    Thanks!
     
  5. OverSpun thread starter macrumors 6502a

    OverSpun

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #6
    Haha.... [Jim Dalrymple] yep [/Jim Dalrymple]

    Thanks! :D

    Sounds like you can do the same that was posted in the thread.
     
  6. kevintech macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    #7
    Also, on iphonox.com, I typed in my IMEI and it my Sim lock status says: unlocked. Does that mean all I have to do is restore?
     
  7. OverSpun thread starter macrumors 6502a

    OverSpun

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Personally, I would be skeptical passing out my IMEI, but there are more knowledgeable people on the forum about that.

    (Same reason why you wouldn't give away your serial or IMEI on auctions, etc).

    right?
     
  8. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #9
    if you applied or paid for an IMEI unlock, yes.

    Restore is not required, I recommend you re-read the responses above.
     
  9. kevintech macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    #10
    if you have a non supported sim card, you do NOT need to restore after being unlocked.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page