Become a MacRumors Supporter for $25/year with no ads, private forums, and more!

MP 1,1-5,1 Radeon 580x Stopped working after PRAM reset! Help!

JavierB

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 15, 2012
9
1
Hey wizards,
I have a Mac Pro 5,1 with a Radeon Sapphire 580x. Not flashed, so no boot screen.
It has worked really well the last year or so. I was having some shutdown issues in the past week so I did an SMC and PRAM reset and since then the card is black screening me. I put in my old stock card and everything is fine. I checked FileVault and its off.

But I cant get the 580x to send out a picture. the mac boots, i know because i get sounds and i can open and close the cd tray and shut it down with command shortcuts. But zero image.

WHAT HAPPENED? did I kill it? what can I try?
 

JedNZ

macrumors 6502
Dec 6, 2015
472
169
Deep South
It would greatly assist the community if you add a signature with your system information. Include BootRom version, macOS, PCI cards, ram and boot configuration etc.

So tell us a little more about the GPU itself - is it a Sapphire Pulse RX580 (4GB or 8GB), or the Sapphire Nitro RX580 8GB? Does it have a dual BIOS switch? Have you tried the other BIOS if it has dual BIOS?
How is it powered: dual mini-6-pin to 8-pin? Pixlas Mod? SATA power cable?
What is your screen and how is your GPU connected to it? DisplayPort, HDMI etc?
Have you tried another cable? Tried another port (HDMI instead of DP, or vice versa)?
 

JavierB

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 15, 2012
9
1
Sure.
Its a Sapphire Pulse 580x 8gb. Its dual 6 to 8pin powered. I'm connecting to a Cinema Display via DVI
I'm running High Sierra 10.13.6 on a 12 core, 3.46gz Pro from 2009. Boot ROM Version: MP51.0089.B00

As I noted, it was working fine until I did an SMC reset and a Option-Command-PR pram/nvram reset and that seemed to kill it. It was still powered up and fans were running but zero image. The mac still responded to keyboard commands, like eject, volume up/down, and keyboard shortcut shutdown.

I checked and the mac is still identifying as a 5,1. The stock card is working perfectly in the same slot with the same power, same monitor, same connections.

--------------
 

Macschrauber

macrumors 65816
Dec 27, 2015
1,002
371
Germany
Sure.
Its a Sapphire Pulse 580x 8gb. Its dual 6 to 8pin powered. I'm connecting to a Cinema Display via DVI
I'm running High Sierra 10.13.6 on a 12 core, 3.46gz Pro from 2009. Boot ROM Version: MP51.0089.B00

As I noted, it was working fine until I did an SMC reset and a Option-Command-PR pram/nvram reset and that seemed to kill it. It was still powered up and fans were running but zero image. The mac still responded to keyboard commands, like eject, volume up/down, and keyboard shortcut shutdown.

I checked and the mac is still identifying as a 5,1. The stock card is working perfectly in the same slot with the same power, same monitor, same connections.

--------------

you can try to turn on screen sharing and vnc and remotley look into your Mac Pro With another machine. If it has recognized the gpu and set a correct resolution.
 

JavierB

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 15, 2012
9
1
you can try to turn on screen sharing and vnc and remotley look into your Mac Pro With another machine. If it has recognized the gpu and set a correct resolution.


Thanks! But what happens then? I mean, what would I do after finding out that answer either if it does or doesnt? How do I reset it to what it was before?
 

JedNZ

macrumors 6502
Dec 6, 2015
472
169
Deep South
Not necessarily. Try a few more things:

Does the display show when booting into Recovery (Boot holding down Cmd+R)?

Are you using any type of display software like SwitchResX? If so, disable it via remote/VNC.

If still no luck, on powering on again, hold down shift for a minute. A Safe Boot disables third party extensions that could be causing an issue.

Remove the GPU and I inspect. Use some compressed air on the PCIe pins and check/inspect the PCIe slot. Reseat the power cables.

Have you installed any security updates or macOS updates lately? When was the last time you replaced the PRAM battery?

Have you tried to update the BootRom recently? If you did try and it didn’t seem to work, consider shutting down then press and hold (and keep holding) the power button until you hear a long tone, then release and wait for a reboot. Do not interrupt this.

Let us know how you go.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: RafalG

JavierB

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 15, 2012
9
1
Not necessarily. Try a few more things:

Does the display show when booting into Recovery (Boot holding down Cmd+R)?

Are you using any type of display software like SwitchResX? If so, disable it via remote/VNC.

If still no luck, on powering on again, hold down shift for a minute. A Safe Boot disables third party extensions that could be causing an issue.

Remove the GPU and I inspect. Use some compressed air on the PCIe pins and check/inspect the PCIe slot. Reseat the power cables.

Have you installed any security updates or macOS updates lately? When was the last time you replaced the PRAM battery?

Have you tried to update the BootRom recently? If you did try and it didn’t seem to work, consider shutting down then press and hold (and keep holding) the power button until you hear a long tone, then release and wait for a reboot. Do not interrupt this.

Let us know how you go.

I've done some of this.
Recovery Boot is the same as regular boot: black screen.
Not using any display software.
No third party extension issues. (again, it was working fine with all software the same)
removed and replaced the card several times, no change.
no software or boot rom updates in the past few days, all i did was PRAM and SMC resets.
 

Macschrauber

macrumors 65816
Dec 27, 2015
1,002
371
Germany
Just enable screen sharing, its a quick thing.

if you have not another mac you may have an ios device, the Remoter App can handle vnc connections.
 

JedNZ

macrumors 6502
Dec 6, 2015
472
169
Deep South
I've done some of this.
Recovery Boot is the same as regular boot: black screen.
Not using any display software.
No third party extension issues. (again, it was working fine with all software the same)
removed and replaced the card several times, no change.
no software or boot rom updates in the past few days, all i did was PRAM and SMC resets.

I have a couple of inexplicable issues over the years with my cMPs - boot up stalls, GPUs not initiating etc. my last resort, after trying everything else, had to hold down the power button on startup as if I was updating the BootRom firmware, and that has somehow - maybe only just a coincidence- been the thing that has resolved my issues - sometimes, not always. No idea if this could harm your cMP but if you’re all out of ideas it might be something you consider. Short of that, I’m out of ideas but there are a lot of others with a heap more experience that might chirp in with some advice/ideas.
 

RafalG

macrumors newbie
Oct 14, 2020
1
0
I've done some of this.
Recovery Boot is the same as regular boot: black screen.
Not using any display software.
No third party extension issues. (again, it was working fine with all software the same)
removed and replaced the card several times, no change.
no software or boot rom updates in the past few days, all i did was PRAM and SMC resets.
Hey! I have similar machine (MP5,1 (Mid 2010) with Radeon Sapphire RX580 8GB, same OS), and the same trouble.
I did, same like you, SMC and PRAM reset, and after that when i switch on, i hear horn and see black screen.
I've tried advice described above, but it my case it doesn't work as well. With old GPU everything is good.
did you resolve your issue?
Maybe somebody has another solutions?

thanks in advance
 

JavierB

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 15, 2012
9
1
Hey! I have similar machine (MP5,1 (Mid 2010) with Radeon Sapphire RX580 8GB, same OS), and the same trouble.
I did, same like you, SMC and PRAM reset, and after that when i switch on, i hear horn and see black screen.
I've tried advice described above, but it my case it doesn't work as well. With old GPU everything is good.
did you resolve your issue?
Maybe somebody has another solutions?

thanks in advance

Not resolved yet.
After the first few days I've frankly been too busy to risk trashing my computer with repeated swapping out of the video card, so I've just been puttering along with the old stock ATI card until I get some free time. I'm glad its not just me that had this issue, and so I do suspect that its a software Mac thing, because the coincidence with the PRAM/SMC reset is too odd otherwise. Nobody has chimed in yet with what the software fix is though.
 

JavierB

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 15, 2012
9
1
Not resolved yet.
After the first few days I've frankly been too busy to risk trashing my computer with repeated swapping out of the video card, so I've just been puttering along with the old stock ATI card until I get some free time. I'm glad its not just me that had this issue, and so I do suspect that its a software Mac thing, because the coincidence with the PRAM/SMC reset is too odd otherwise. Nobody has chimed in yet with what the software fix is though.

I will note that there is a new version of the video card that comes with the correct EFI and boot screen, which who knows, may resolve the issue, and runs around 300 bucks for the 8gb config. thats on my possible solution list. it would be nice to have a boot screen.
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.