Rage 128 Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by Beej, Aug 10, 2002.

  1. Beej
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #1
    I'm selling the Ati Rage 128 Pro that came in my Sawtooth G4 400. I can't for the life of me remember (or even find out) how many MB RAM is on the thing. Can anyone help me out? I think it's 8, but I'm not sure...
     
  2. mac15
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    #2
    I think its 16mbs , why didn't you check with apple sytem profiler
     
  3. sparkleytone
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #3
    so run the Apple System Profiler :rolleyes:

    that is unless its already uninstalled ;)
     
  4. Beej
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #4
    The card wasn't in my comp, so I put it in and ran the ASP (this is before I posted this thread) - but it doesn't say. It knows what type of card it is, and the vendor etc, but doesn't say how much VRAM...
     
  5. macsurfer
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    NYC, L.A.
    #5
    It's 8mb. The Rage 128 Ultra is 16mb. Unless a Rage 128 Pro was made with 16, but I don't think so.
     
  6. Arcady
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Arcady

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    #6
    I have a Rage 128 Pro with 16 megs. It was originally in a PowerMac G4.
     
  7. Beej
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #7
    Ugh... conflicting advice :(

    The more I think about it, the more I think it's 16...
     
  8. IndyGopher
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    IndyGopher

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2001
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #8
    If it came out of either a G3 Blue and White or a G4 tower, and is a stock Apple card, it absolutely, positively has 16 megs of RAM on it.

    The ONLY Rage 128 setup with 8Megs was in the iMac.
     
  9. Geert
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Geert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2001
    Location:
    .be
    #9
    Rage 128 Pro came in 2 flavors:
    8Mb for the iMacs DV
    16Mb for the PMacs
     
  10. Beej
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
  11. macsurfer
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    NYC, L.A.

Share This Page