Really embarrassing—plant behind interviewee's head in FCP footage. How to remove?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Ace.of.Trades, Aug 31, 2011.

  1. Ace.of.Trades macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    #1
    Hi, all,

    I conducted an interview and didn't have someone behind the camera. I set up the shot but didn't notice there was a plant right behind my interviewee's head. It looks embarrassingly comical in the footage.

    It's just a few sprigs, but enough to make it extremely ugly. How do I make the plants the same color as the wall in the background, or how do I otherwise remove the plants from the shot?

    Reshooting is pretty much out of the question.

    Thanks!
     
  2. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
  3. handsome pete macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #3
    A screenshot would help more in giving you advice.

    Without seeing it though, I'd mask it out. Are you limited to FCP or do you have AE or Motion?
     
  4. Ace.of.Trades thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    #4
    Thanks, guys. I'll check out that youtube vid.

    I have AE and Motion.

    Here's a screenshot:

    Screen Shot 2011-08-31 at 12.41.50 PM.png

    The leaves are really small but just noticeable. Also, the interviewee moves around a bit and exposes more and less of the leaves.
     
  5. Ace.of.Trades thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    #5
    Also, I've got a shot of the background only, at one point where the interviewee stood up and walked out of the shot. Is there a way to use that to make rotoscoping easier?
     
  6. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #6
    Compare frame with and without person. Take out person to its own layer.

    Add background with plant removed.
     
  7. Ace.of.Trades thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    #7
    Thanks, Consultant, I know how to do that in Photoshop, but how in the world do I do that in FCP or AE or Motion?
     
  8. YESimBLUNTED macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Location:
    In my cubicle somewhere in this rat maze
    #8
    Yeah this would be an easy fix in AE.

    Sucks when you have to be the interviewer and camera op.

    Hope you can find another hand next time... or at least another pair of eyes to catch those damn sprigs (they can be sneaky sometimes!). :D
     
  9. aarond12 macrumors 65816

    aarond12

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas, TX USA
    #9
    I know it's embarrassing, but removing your interviewee's head is a little extreme. :eek:
     
  10. cgbier macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #10
    Check for AE Roto Brush tutorials. It's actually pretty simple.

    Can't help you any further there, as I never went beyond the trial period with AE.
     
  11. martinX macrumors 6502a

    martinX

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    How would you do this in Motion? I have a wireless mic cable in shot...twice.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. gusapple macrumors 6502a

    gusapple

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Location:
    The alphabetically sixth to last state.
    #12
    After doing some roto in Motion, I would never ever wish that torture upon another person. I would say to go into AE. Really. Even if it takes you 10 hours to get After Effects, it will take a whole lot less time than using Motion.
     
  13. cgbier macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #13
    ^+1!

    That is stuff you really do not want to do in Motion. I mean it works, but it is a pain. Roto Brush in AE is perfect for a high contrast problem like yours. Shouldn't take longer than a few minutes.
     
  14. martinX macrumors 6502a

    martinX

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #14
    :(

    Can I do this with a trial version of AE?
     
  15. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #15
    The Adobe trials are fully functioning for 30 days.


    Lethal
     
  16. cgbier macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011

Share This Page