Recording feature found on new iPods!

Flowbee

macrumors 68030
Original poster
Dec 27, 2002
2,944
0
Alameda, CA
The clever guys at iPoding have discovered that the new iPods have a recording feature built-in!

"Well, we couldn't wait so we went to the local Best Buy and picked up a new Gen 2 15GB. It's going to be taken apart soon, but we first ran Diagnostic Mode on it. It has a recording feature! There is also a test for LINEIN that does recording too. We don't have a mic to test with it at the moment but after "recording" when we listen to the headphones we hear the sound of nothing recorded (you know what we mean right?)"

http://www.ipoding.com

[Edit: Could a microphone be the new 'communication device' recently rumored?]
 

Walter2wine

macrumors newbie
May 2, 2003
1
0
Now THAT'S a reason to sell my old one and buy a new one. Backlit buttons and solitaire just weren't doing it for me. I wonder when this will be official.
 

codycartoon

macrumors regular
Sep 13, 2002
164
1
wow!

i am getting a new ipod in like an hour...so i will test this out...but if this is true why didnt apple advertise it?

-cody
 

jayb2000

macrumors 6502a
Apr 18, 2003
748
0
RI -> CA -> ME
this is cool

25 gigs of music and space left over to record classes or whatever.

Best thing to happen to bootlegs in a long time if the quality is anygood! :D
 

Mr.Hey

macrumors 6502
Jul 17, 2002
370
0
I'm thinking its because ITS NOT READY ;). Hence the reason why Steve didn't mention it. It will probably be in the next release firmware version. Remember this will violate your Apple Care Warranty and if you f**k it up Apple will tell you to tick it were the sun don't shine.

i am getting a new ipod in like an hour...so i will test this out...but if this is true why didnt apple advertise it?

-cody
 

nebben123

macrumors newbie
May 2, 2003
11
0
wow, if this is true and the iPod will include some decent A/D conversion and record in AIFF then it will be the end of my MiniDisc player. good quality line-in uncompressed recording is what i have been waiting for.

it could be a DAT killer too! i couldn't imagine an easier way to record than with iPod. go to a show, plug in your mics, record, hook it up to your Mac, copy the new file over, do a bit of editing, burn to CD... done!

hopefully this is true! i love my MiniDisc but depending on how Apple does it, a recording iPod could kill. right now with MD, even if you record your own stuff through line-in there is no way to get it back out in digital form unless you buy one of the "pro" decks ($600+) with a digital out on it. pitiful!

iPod with good quality recording = *drool*
 

nebben123

macrumors newbie
May 2, 2003
11
0
Originally posted by codycartoon
i am getting a new ipod in like an hour...so i will test this out...but if this is true why didnt apple advertise it?

-cody
well i'm guessing it's because the external hardware (ie. a LINE-IN JACK) is not there yet. ??? i think it's just in the firmware/OS of the iPod.
 

matty8r

macrumors newbie
Feb 25, 2003
17
0
Denver
So, the third section of the connector is for something afterall!
sweet!


edit: and I'm not talking about the little black tab either (that's for the remote). I'm talking about the fact that the plug has three stripes instead of the two we normally see on stereo headphone plugs.
 

Freg3000

macrumors 68000
Sep 22, 2002
1,914
0
New York
Really, really cool. I am surprised though, don't you think Steve would have previewed the recording feature last Monday? I mean, he previewed some iTunes 4 stuff at MWNY almost a year ago, so why not this?
 

neut

macrumors 68000
Nov 27, 2001
1,843
0
here (for now)
now i want one...

this is what I have been waiting for. PDAs have been toteing 24-bit recording as the future (for sound engineers), but who needs another device to get in the way?

An i-pod that records? F*ck Yeah!

Ok, so...

My TiPB can sit in my new Honda Element (hooked up to the audio in) while i record whatever outside (like when we go camping), then i come back in, dump it to the HD, and start mixing?

Wholly ****! I can't wait!!!!!!!
 

blackcrayon

macrumors 68020
Mar 10, 2003
2,055
1,587
it's not the third section of the remote...

it's not the third section of the remote that is carrying the Mic in- because just the headphones plugged right into the iPod work "fine" for the recording (fine as in very noisy since they arent a real microphone :) The headphone jack on the headphones only has 2 sections (the ones closest to the tip)...
 

outward sound

macrumors newbie
May 2, 2003
1
0
Cali
Originally posted by nebben123
well i'm guessing it's because the external hardware (ie. a LINE-IN JACK) is not there yet. ??? i think it's just in the firmware/OS of the iPod.
I would agree. Is there currently anywhere to plug a microphone into an iPod? Not to sound overly skeptical, but it would also give Apple an accessory to manufacture/sell with the iPod. IMHO for the price, it really should include audio recording capability...
 

slavey

macrumors newbie
Jan 3, 2002
15
0
San Diego, CA
As to where the audio line in could be, remember that there is a new, custom connector on the bottom of the iPod.

Perhaps one of these pins is a audio-in?
 

KLFloyd

macrumors regular
Nov 13, 2002
162
0
Gainesville, FL
Okay, I'm not really familiar with the technical aspects of this so maybe someone can give me a general answer to this question:

About how much space are we looking at a recording taking? Would it be recorded in AIFF, ACC, or what? If it was AIFF it would eat HD space quickly, epically if you were recording a lengthy interview or class lecture.

It would be important to know so I knew if I should get the 10, 15 or even 30 GB version.
 

macdong

macrumors 6502
Mar 25, 2003
349
0
Seattle, WA
Re: Recording feature found on new iPods!

Originally posted by Flowbee
[Edit: Could a microphone be the new 'communication device' recently rumored?]
Finally.....
I see the light of my endless MD-recording nightmare...
 

mim

macrumors 6502
Re: it's not the third section of the remote...

Originally posted by blackcrayon
it's not the third section of the remote that is carrying the Mic in- because just the headphones plugged right into the iPod work "fine" for the recording (fine as in very noisy since they arent a real microphone :) The headphone jack on the headphones only has 2 sections (the ones closest to the tip)...
I remember from those dim dark days when I played around with electronics that you could turn any speaker into a microphone by reversing the current through it. I believe the reason that most devices have a seperate line-in is so you don't have to stuff around plugging/unplugging cables. There is no reason the d/a-a/d converters couldn't run through the same socket.

a.

[edit: when I say reversing the current, I'm being a bit dumb. Instead of using current to move the magnet in your speaker around to produce sound, you let the sound move the magnet around to generate current. It's that simple. There is no real difference between the hardware required. You just need an A/D converter to pick up the incomming current. They're cheap as to make/buy too. There's no reason what so ever that this won't be a future feature.]
 

melchior

macrumors 65816
Nov 17, 2002
1,206
79
through the headphone jack is a mono line in, but there is also apparently a stereo capability in the special connector thing at the bottom..
 

laodamas

macrumors newbie
Jul 22, 2002
4
0
About how much space are we looking at a recording taking? Would it be recorded in AIFF, ACC, or what? If it was AIFF it would eat HD space quickly, epically if you were recording a lengthy interview or class lecture
The PortalPlayer chip (assuming the architecture has not changed) that Apple is using has the capability to encode all the formats it officially decodes (AIFF,MP3,WMA). Recording can only be supported on the new iPods due to the addition of a ADC (Analogue to Digital Converter) and some reshuffling of the GPIO (General Purpose input/output) pin usage on the PortalPlayer chip.

Anyway with a thirty gig drive, you could store over 3700 minutes of uncompressed CD Audio, or 7400 minutes of compressed lossless audio.

well i'm guessing it's because the external hardware (ie. a LINE-IN JACK) is not there yet. ??? i think it's just in the firmware/OS of the iPod.
The line in jack IS the headphone plug! "Speak into Left earphone when "BEGIN..." appears" This implies that the headphone jack is wired as a mic jack :) Hopefully its stereo. Someone with a new iPod needs to try this procedure with a mic or two and try different miniplug configurations to see how the port is wired up.
 

jethroted

macrumors 6502a
Jan 2, 2003
619
0
Cyberspace
Originally posted by matty8r
So, the third section of the connector is for something afterall!
sweet!


edit: and I'm not talking about the little black tab either (that's for the remote). I'm talking about the fact that the plug has three stripes instead of the two we normally see on stereo headphone plugs.
There is actually 4 parts. You count the metal parts not the plastic ones. Normally there should be two metal parts, and one plastic for a stereo hook up. So this has 2 more than normal. Mic & headphones?
 

FuzzyBallz

macrumors 6502a
May 2, 2003
977
0
Home of Al-Qaida
Originally posted by matty8r
So, the third section of the connector is for something afterall!
sweet!


edit: and I'm not talking about the little black tab either (that's for the remote). I'm talking about the fact that the plug has three stripes instead of the two we normally see on stereo headphone plugs.
You see a third strip because of this. The mini tab is for the remote. Any seasoned Sony CD and MD owner should be familiar w/ the tab.
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.