"Reduce", an universal app to resize your images (and file size) for the web.

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by Thyraz, Dec 25, 2012.

1. Thyraz macrumors newbie

Hi,

I just finished my new app called "Reduce". :)
    [​IMG]

App Store: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/reduce/id580474806?l=de&ls=1&mt=8

It's on sale until the App Store holidays end.

The app is about resizing, limiting file size (auto-detects jpeg compression), sharpening, and watermark your pictures for the web.
    I'm a photographer who often travels with his iPad and missed a straight-forwarded app to "export" my images before uploading or sending them.

It can also add a simple border and remove the EXIF data (like gps position) if wanted.
    You can save presets for your favorite sites, like your blog or online communities, which might have different pixel-width or file-size limitations.

Here's what it looks like:
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

Any feedback is welcome. :)

2. Fedorov macrumors 6502

I'll certainly try this out - I was after an app to reduce the size of a logo at work a few weeks ago. What I found was the few apps that let me take a huge company logo down from 1500 pixels wide to 200-300 pixels wide just scaled the image down using standard resize routines so the smaller text within the logo was unreadable and pixelated.

If you look at the free XnView software on Windows as an example, the image resize dialog allows you to use a Lanczos resize algorithm which means when you shrink it still retains as much detail as possible without pixellation.

I resized using this which I saved at max jpeg quality which gave me a 30k file size for using in email signatures - I then used the awesome jpegmini website which reduced filesize down to 19k without loss of visible quality.