Register your kids Chrismas present Drone, or the Feds will take it away and slap you a $75,000fine!

Discussion in 'Politics, Religion, Social Issues' started by PracticalMac, Dec 19, 2015.

1. PracticalMac macrumors 68030

PracticalMac

That's right folks!

Starting next week, you either register your drone, or be breaking the law!!
    The FAA is using its full authority of airspace to impose draconian Big Brother laws!

So better go here and register.

Yes, it is limited to minimum 250 grams (.5 pounds) and up to 55 pounds, it is still a light weight.
    An iPhone weights about 130 grams.
    Regardless, nothing will stop the FAA to change the rules to include lighter, cheaper drones.

I am an aircraft pilot, light aircraft, and drones are a concern, however I think this rule is severely authritarian. Especially since the FAA already has rules on RC model aircraft drafted decades ago which applies to Drones as well as typical RC models.
    Critically there is little public notification of the need for registration for drones. It is possible millions of people will be flying drones illigaly.
    There is also technological solutions to drones, since the typical quad-copter type have accelerometers and gyros for stability, they will also have the ability to measure how far they travel, thus a built in limit.

In short, the FAA is casting a huge net to take control of this issue before Congress or POTUS does something. Once the net is tossed, it will be difficult to create a balanced and productive set of laws.
    (Surprised Republicans are not all over this "Big Gov" power grab).

NOTE: I do approve of FAA being proactive with the Drone issue, however I am leery about how they are doing it.

2. FieldingMellish Suspended

Almost everyone has been offended by, or put in danger from, a drone operated by a selfish and obnoxious wingnut. It's a bipartisan issue.

3. PracticalMac, Dec 19, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2015

PracticalMac thread starter macrumors 68030