Renaming Audio Tracks For TV

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by nicholasd, Nov 10, 2015.

  1. nicholasd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    #1
    There has been a lot of discussion about the new TV and how it handles surround sound.

    I have been trying to test it on my system but ALL of my encoded movies (not purchased from iTunes) have 2 Audio streams. 1) AAC 2CH and 2) AC3 5.1

    Problem is, I cannot figure out which on is which on the TV. They both read as "English"

    Is there anyway to rename these Audio tracks on my mac so that I can differentiate them?
     
  2. priitv8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #2
    If memory serves, none of the iOS-based aTV-s have ever displayed the description you give to the audio track, only the language. Lately iTunes has followed the trend.
    Original (OS X based) aTV did show the audio track description.
    You can use your own different language code to tell them apart.
     
  3. nicholasd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    #3
    So you are saying "English" for 2Ch and "French" for AC3 5.1? Something along those lines?
     
  4. jaysue macrumors regular

    jaysue

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    Tolleson, AZ
    #4
    On the Appe TV 3 when you went into change the audio if there was a surround sound track it was labeled as English (surround), the Apple TV doesn't seem to have that.
     
  5. nicholasd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    #5
    Yeah I only see two identical "English" audio tracks and can't figure out how to distinguish between them...Other than renaming one of them to a "foreign" language to tell them apart...frustrating...
     
  6. mcdj macrumors 604

    mcdj

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    Workaround...

    Remux with only the desired audio track? Shouldn't take much time all if just using pass thru for the video.
     
  7. nicholasd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    #7
    I want both though...In case I take the movie/tv show on the road (i.e. phone, iPad, computer)...So I want the 2Ch as well as the 5.1

    I guess I will just make the "french" track 5.1 and the "english" track 2ch for now...pretty easy to do in Subler...just going to take some time to open each individual file and change the Language for the 5.1 Track...

    BTW my iTunes still says "English" for the 2Ch and "English (AC3)" so it would be great for the TV to at give me that distinction (maybe a update later???)
     
  8. jaysue macrumors regular

    jaysue

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    Tolleson, AZ
    #8
    In Subler if double click on a track you can change the name, for example i changed my Surround track to - English (Surround), so now when i pull down the menu i can tell the difference.
     
  9. nicholasd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    #9
    What version of subler?
    What are you using when you "pull down" the menu? (AppleTV 1,2,3,4? iTunes?)

    I tried to rename the audio track (I believe in Subler, I will check when I get home, it could have been with MP4 tools) and when I save it and open it back up it says "unknown" now. Again, not 100% if I used MP4 Tools or Subler to rename the audio track. I will verify when I get home.
     
  10. jaysue macrumors regular

    jaysue

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    Tolleson, AZ
    #10
    I'm running Subler 1.0.5, and I'm talking about the pull down menu in the Apple TV 4 where it shows info, audio, subs. All my tracks used to show english and couldn't tell the difference between them, so in Subler i double click the track i want to change and i rename it to whatever i what it to say, like commentary, surround, stereo. I tried it with an MP4 i made through Handbrake and it seemed to work fine, but it won't show up that way in Plex, or iTunes from what i saw.
     
  11. nicholasd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    #11
    Jaysue! Genius!

    I was changing the "language" in Subler to English (Stereo) & English (Surround)...not the "NAME" of the stream...Once I changed the "Name" then it DOES show on the TV4! Awesome!

    You are right that iTunes still displays it as "English" and does not show the name of the track that I put in Subler...o well, at least I know which Audio track to select on my TV now. Thank you!
     

Share This Page