Replacing the hard drive in my imac with a 2TB 5400rpm?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jamin100, Jan 17, 2012.

  1. jamin100 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    #1
    Hey,

    Ive just found a good deal on some Samsung F4 2TB 32MN cache ecogreen drives
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0042SGDVG/
    (i paid £61 not £102)

    I want replace the stock 640GB drive in my 2009 24" imac

    Is this a good choice? I know that 7200rpm drives would be faster but with the current prices i just couldnt afford it.

    Anyway, I use my imac for web broswing, Lightroom and make some very basic home movies in imovie.

    Will that drive be fast enough? I have 8GB RAM if that makes a difference?
     
  2. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #2
    You should be fine...It won't be as fast as the 7200, but I don't think you are going to notice too much difference. You have 8GB of RAM which helps things along too.
     
  3. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
  4. jwm2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    #4
    FW800 isn't as fast as an sata connection. He'd really be taking a performace hit with fw800.
     
  5. charlieroberts macrumors 6502a

    charlieroberts

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    #5
    I haven´t looked at the benchmarks for those drives but there is a good chance that the 2TB newer drive is actually faster than your old one, due to increased density. So I think you should go for it!
     
  6. jamin100 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    #6
    Great, well at that price I've ordered 2 so hopefully I'll be able to put one in soon ish
     
  7. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #7
    Better to be slower for data than to be slower for the system.
     
  8. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #8
    On large block transfers yes. Bandwidth is increasing and a 5400 drive can get up to 120MB/s+ however, response time's are going to be slow. Run your OS on something else and use the 5400RPM for storage. Or feel the speed hit. Never get an Eco or Green HDD for a boot disk. The one your looking at is very slow. Peruse the charts here:
    http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/hdd-charts-2012/benchmarks,134.html
    Average throughput is around 100MB/s but it is in the bottom 2/3rd's on everything else that matters more. Check also about the amount of head parking on that model.

    ----------

    ???. The drive will be bottlenecked by FW800. When would that ever be a good idea to knowingly buy into? Most externals are already the 5400RPM variety as they are cool running and used to not be able to saturate FW800 link. Now they do. You'll be down 40% of your speed on FW800.
     
  9. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #9
    It doesn't matter. He already bought the drive, so it's better for it to be slow for data, than to replace the system drive.

    And FW800 is not that bad for that.
     
  10. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #10
    I completely agree. The base drive is large enough for the basic install, and for the bigger data the FW800 is sufficient. And risk-free compared to the disassembling of the iMac
     
  11. jamin100 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    #11
    Hmmm well I have already got a 1tb USB drive hanging off my iMac.

    So you suggest using the 2tb drive in an external enclosure instead of having the os on it?

    I was reading that the drive was ok speed wise as the 2tb is spread over 3 platters rather than 4
     
  12. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
  13. jamin100 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    #13
    Ok so my internal 640gb drive holds pretty much everything

    Connected to that via USB is a 1tb external drive. Data is backed up to this at certain intervals using chronosync

    I then have a 640gb USB drive hanging off my airport extreme which I use for wireless time machine backups

    My final backup is a 640gb portable drive which I make a bootable clone and keep offsite at my parents
     
  14. jamin100 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
  15. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #15
    Is the 1TB drive only for backup or how much data do you store there?

    How fast is it?
     
  16. cube, Jan 17, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2012

    cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #16
    The easiest and cheapest would be:

    - If possible, exchange the time machine drive with the 2TB, put the old drive in a FW800 enclosure as data disk. Otherwise, get another USB enclosure and use the old TM as is as data disk.
    - Get another 640GB external drive for cloning the data disk.

    So, you would have to use 2 clone drives now.

    ----------

    Apple does not support Time Machine on Airport Extreme.
     
  17. jamin100 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    #17
    Yes its only for backup.
    Currently had 500GB of data on it.
    As for the speed: its a segate Barracuda 7200rpm 1TB drive
     
  18. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #18
    You could put the 1TB 7200 in the iMac, buy a cheap 1TB external for cloning,
    use one 640GB drive to replace the 1TB until it fills up and prices go down, use the 2TB for Time Machine, and retire the other two 640GB drives.
     
  19. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #19
    Assuming the 1TB can be swapped and has the same internal interface as the iMac, otherwise just get a fast internal and use the 1TB external for cloning.
     
  20. jamin100 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    #20
    Ok here's what i might do.

    Option1
    Move the 1TB drive into the imac.
    Put the 2TB drive in the USB Enclosure.

    my Itunes library is 250GB so I will put my itunes library onto the 2TB drive.
    All other data will stay on the 1TB internal but will be backed up to the 2TB drive.

    I will then use one of the 640GB drives connected to the airport extreme to backup the itunes library wirelessly.

    OR another way:

    Option2
    Move the 1TB drive into the imac and keep all data on it (apart from itunes)
    Connect one of the 640GB (7200rpm) drives via USB and store only my 250GB itunes library on it.
    Use the 2TB drive in a USB enclosure connected to the Airport extreme to backup everything wirelessly

    THEN which ever option i choose

    Sell the 640GB 3.5inch drive and the 640GB 2.5" drive and buy a 1TB 2.5 inch drive to clone the system drive in the imac to keep offsite.

    ----------

    Yeh its SATA
     
  21. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #21
    Beware some external 2.5" drives use a proprietary internal connector.
    If the mechanism is taller than 12.5mm it most probably can't be fit in a notebook, either.
     
  22. jamin100 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    #22
    These are all sata drives that ive brought and then put into external enclosures.
     
  23. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #23
    That's what I like to do, but sometimes the ready-made are just too cheap.
     
  24. jamin100 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    #24
    Thanks, so looking above which option would you go for?

    My data is as follows

    Itunes 250GB - I use 2 apple TV's so this is only going to grow
    Imovie files 100GB
    General Stuff 60GB
    Photos 120GB (i shoot RAW so files are usually 15MB each)
     
  25. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004

Share This Page