iPhone Restoring SMS/MMS from 6.1.2 to 6.0.2? Or Period?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by HeyGreggie, Apr 3, 2013.

  1. HeyGreggie macrumors 65816

    HeyGreggie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    #1
    the last backup I did was on my old iphone 5 which was on 6.1.2....

    Currently the replacement I have is on 6.0.2... and I cannot restore from backup without updating to a more recent ios (which would be 6.1.3) and I would lose my jailbreak.

    Is it possible to move my "attachments" and "sms.db" from the 6.1.2 backup that I saved to my desktop to this 6.0.2 manually? if so, how? And what permissions do I need to set?
     
  2. nanolife macrumors 6502

    nanolife

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Location:
    Pasadena
    #2
    I think the best you can do is to use "Wondershare Dr.fone" app. It will load your stored backup and then you can read your messages and whatever is there.
    It works like a charm!
     
  3. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #3
    The other day, someone posted this (I just copy and pasted into my notes so idk who to give credit to):


    locate your backup on your computer.
    For Windows, it's at "C:/Documents and Settings/[USERNAME]/Application Data/Apple Computer/MobileSync/Backup". For Mac, it's "~/Library/Application Support/MobileSync/Backup"
    Locate your latest backup and search for the info.plist file. Edit it with a text editor and look for this string: <key>Product Version</key>
    Change 6.1.2 to 6.0.2 and save.
    You can now restore to this backup on 6.0.2.
     
  4. Mr_Brightside_@ macrumors 68020

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    The 6ix
    #4
    Has anyone done this successfully?
     
  5. Mr_Brightside_@ macrumors 68020

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    The 6ix
    #5
    I was all set to try this, then my replacement came with 6.1.2 :D good luck!
     
  6. camerons2001 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    #6
    Changing the version and build number do indeed work.

    Cheers!
     

Share This Page